Handwritten Tech Logos

Mila Tazi
3 min readApr 23, 2018

--

Since writing my previous article, where I shared my story of learning type design while rocking my baby to sleep, I’ve been redirecting my newly acquired skills towards designing type driven logos. Slowly shifting my journey from designing fonts, to crafting handwritten logos for startups.

In a world of perfectly symmetrical and too many look-a-like logos, handwritten logos give a more unique & human vibe to companies.

To challenge this premise, I decided to redesign a few logos of well known technology companies by hand.

Microsoft:

A division within Microsoft has been focussing on capturing some market share from Apple’s creative users (with products like Microsoft Surface Studio). But their logo still screams corporate, blue screens & ‘windows’….

Here are a few concepts, where I explored the directions Microsoft could potentially think about.

Dropbox:

For some reason (unknown to anyone I ask) Dropbox decided to focus their entire redesign on creatives. Using weird colors and photos that make no sense.

But ok, I started playing around with their logo, to see what a hand-drawn approach would do to the experience of the brand.

Airbnb:

I love Airbnb and their focus on design. I thought I’d see how a handwritten mark would turn out.

And just for fun…

Vans:

Not a tech company, but I love wearing their shoes:

Make your startup feel less like everybody else.

Feel free to ping me.

Mila — Type Designer @ Fairpixels.pro

--

--