Niyo Global card: a new experience

Millennial Desi
2 min readDec 5, 2019

--

This is an update to my previous review of the Niyo Global card that is available here. You should read that first for more context.

I have continued to use the Niyo Global card both in India and abroad and am quite happy with the card so far. They have continued to add more features like:

· Travel Insurance
· Maps (featuring such essential landmarks as Indian restaurants nearby)
· Offers and discounts on other products
· A referral program etc.

These new features have generally made the product more attractive and user friendly. I have also found their customer service over WhatsApp fairly prompt and helpful on the couple of occasions I’ve had to use them.

However, it is important to remember the limits on cash withdrawal and other transactions on this card, especially if one is planning to make high value transactions while abroad. There are not only daily limits but also monthly and annual limits beyond which your transactions will be declined (presented below). I was recently faced with this situation when I urgently needed to withdraw cash while abroad. In this case, the customer service was also unable to help as I was told that the limits are set by Visa for all Niyo cardholders.

The daily, monthly and annual limits on the Niyo Global card. Source: https://www.goniyo.com/faq.html

While I understand the need for daily limits to prevent loss in case of fraud etc. it would be helpful if these limits were somewhat flexible in extraordinary situations. This is especially important if one is stuck abroad in a country where debit cards are not prevalent and there is a requirement of cash.

Although the limits are high enough that one should not hit them in the case of normal usage. However, in such situations, one would be wise to carry an alternative source of funds to draw on as well.

Despite this, I still find the Niyo Global card a great product and it is my preferred method of transacting abroad. If you’re planning to get it, feel free to use my referral link which will get both you and I INR 500 on your first international spend.

Liked this review? Check out my other articles here!

Disclaimer: I am not associated with Niyo or DCB in any way except as a customer. All opinions here are my own and reflect my own experiences. All details are correct as of the time of publication. I am not responsible for any issues you face with the card — please do your own research before deciding to use the card.

--

--

Millennial Desi

Just your average s̶n̶a̶k̶e̶ ̶p̶e̶r̶s̶o̶n̶ millennial tryna navigate the world of personal finance.