TELL THEM.

Millie Hernandez
2 min readJun 21, 2020

--

Drive me through a crowd

& I’ll pinpoint everything that reminds

Of you.

Walk me through a park &

I’ll tell you about that very first

Breeze felt & how that was our first step

& how you told me

About a crazy girl & a strange affection

For you. (Don’t blame her)

Tell me a joke & I’ll let you see me laugh

Not because it was funny

But, you trying is just dreamy.

Dream me a dream

Where I hold you

& the neverending feeling is

There.

Now, I don’t promise you’ll

Fail

That you won’t forget important dates

Or that your tires need fixing

But, I promise to hold you

Even when your mind

Plays games with you.

Walk me through a crowd

& I’ll tell you why out of everyone

It was always you.

From a coat that you wear for every winter

To a summer where jeans come out

ONCE

a year.

Drive me through a forest &

I’ll tell you how we always got lost

How you never liked your shoes dirty

How you kept them clean.

Drive me through a house.

I’ll let you know how we

Built one

Out of love, adventures, long nights

Pages full of life, out of friends,

out

Of jokes.

Tell me how you found love in the

Stranges of place but, here?

Here it feels & felt right.

Friend? No.

My lover, let me dream

Of all the dreams.

Lay me beside you.

I won’t wake up,

Life gets hard.

Time goes fast.

My last moments will await me

Drive me through our first “vacation”.

Don’t let them know how the sheets were.

From our promises & actions.

Tell me how you got sick

Never sick of me.

Tell them how I won at a car race.

My best friend.

Don’t let know, don’t let them know.

Tell them, tell them.

For their misjudgment is out of spite.

Know, know I’ll carry you.

Tell them, tell them

How we built off love.

Out of nights where seating &

Planning seemed never ending.

Half nights spent with jokes.

Drive me, drive me.

Don’t tell them.

--

--

Millie Hernandez

Hello, my name is Millie & I enjoy reading & writing with a creative passion! Throughout my writing my goal is to connect, capture & illuminate a way of light.