Legends and curiosities of Hole N” the Rock

Milli Thornton 💓
8 min readJun 16, 2018
Image by Milli Thornton

Originally published at Milliver’s Travels under my pen name Crystal Gabrielle

After successfully winding up another long-term house-sitting job, I was heading from Grand Junction, Colorado to Albuquerque, New Mexico. I decided to swing out through Utah to see the sights.

Approximately 12 miles south of Moab, Utah, a big white arrow and the words HOLE N” THE ROCK painted on the side of a red cliff caught my attention.

Follow the arrow, it’s just around the corner! (photo Milli Thornton)

On the other side of the rock I was surprised to find a tourist attraction. It looked funky and fun so I pulled off into the ample parking lot.

(I was there in mid-May. I’m guessing it’s not “ample” during peak season.)

I parked in front of the General Store and thought about getting some ice cream. The first thing I noticed were these unusual Jeeps: one had camo as its color scheme and the other was made out of license plates.

Camo Jeep, plus resident Jeep made from license plates (photo Milli Thornton)

--

--

Milli Thornton 💓

Half Aussie. Writing coach. Deep listener. Devoted fan of the indestructible genius (aka the imagination). Get a 1-hour free consultation at writemorewords.com.