He Who Has A Why To Live Can Bear Almost Any How — Friedrich Nietzsche

Using Nietzsche As A Guide To Face The World

Søcrä Tës
6 min readMar 18, 2024

Who has a why to live can bear almost any how.- Friedrich Nietzsche.

It was a Tuesday morning, and I was on my way back from a night party. The road was busy, and the mist was so thick you could barely see a few feet ahead. Suddenly, I felt a sharp jolt as the mirror of a passing van clipped me. I tumbled to the ground, landing hard on the other side of the road.

Trying to get up, I realized something was terribly wrong with my leg. It was in excruciating pain, and I couldn’t move it properly. The bone was severely damaged; later, I would learn it was the tibia, the larger bone below the knee. People rushed to my aid, and before I knew it, I was on my way to the Mayo Clinic Florida, one of the top-ranked hospitals in the country.

The next five months were a blur of slow, sluggish healing. My mum was by my side, but I often caught her crying when she thought I wasn’t looking. The nurses had told her that my leg would need to be amputated because the damage was too extensive. I didn’t know this at the time, and I couldn’t understand why she was so upset.

--

--

Søcrä Tës

I love to share what I experience everyday in the light of my philosophical studies.