My Take on Korean Machine Translators

Minho Cho
10 min readNov 4, 2023
Photo of Falaise d’Aval by Minho Cho

There’s no denying that the translators available online are getting better by the day. The way these translators understand human language have gotten exponentially better during the past decade, thanks to all the engineers and linguist trying to make these machines replicate human speech to their finest. And as a Korean to English (KO2EN) translator, I’m a big fan of this revolution. They’re all great tools to supplement my translation work, often giving me suggestions or phrases/idioms I’ve have never thought on my own. So without further ado, I want to introduce you to the machine translators I’ve used since I started translating in 2016. I’ll also be comparing the performances of each translator using the Korean paragraphs here:

여기까지 와서 이걸 안 봐? 조금 아쉬운데. 진짜 킹받네.

너 설마 알잘딱깔센 몰라?

그럼 잠깐 광고 나오는 사이에 좋댓구알 해주세요.

아니야, 그건 완전 사바사야.

These paragraphs should each be close to the following:

We’re not going to see it after coming all the way here? I don’t know man… I’m super annoyed.

Don’t tell me you don’t know get it done neatly and on your own with care while being witty?

Then please give me a thumbs up, leave a comment below, subscribe, and hit the notification bell while we get back from the ads.

--

--

Minho Cho

CS Graduate Student, Korean to English Translator, Notion User, and Travel Writer