My Very First Side Hustle

I was about 10 years old at the time, in the early 90s.

--

I’m the one with the Winnipeg Jets jacket.

My very first side hustle was “modeling/acting”.

It was for a company called NewFace.

They made sports (mostly NHL & NFL) apparel.

I did two gigs for them.

The first gig was a photo shoot that I got paid $250.

This was in the early 90s and I was about 10 years old, so it was a fortune to me back then which I mostly spent (invested?) on hockey cards.

The photos got used for an advertisement that appeared in a few magazines.

The second gig was a television commercial.

I got paid $500 plus a bunch of new higher-end hockey equipment.

Unfortunately, I don’t have a copy of it, but basically, the commercial featured a bunch of kids playing hockey at the Montreal Forum in the first part of it.

And, in the second part of it, the same kids were shopping at a department store along with NHL player, Mathieu Schneider when another group of kids ran past him to come ask us for our autographs.

The company’s slogan?

With New Face, You’re The Star!

--

--

Jamie Northrup - Minimalist Hustler

Let me help you launch, grow, and monetize your own passion-based minimalist newsletter today! Get my free newsletter 👉 minimalisthustler.com