MAP OF THE SOUL : PERSONA Review

tiger the bts stan
11 min readApr 14, 2019

--

As someone who has been an ARMY since 2014, I decided that I would attempt to write an album review. Please keep in mind that this is mostly for my own enjoyment. If you happen to read this, I hope that you enjoy it, too.

Here’s a little backstory on my journey as an ARMY. The first BTS song I ever heard was Boy In Luv back in 2014, and I became an ARMY around the release of INU. While I haven’t been an active stan for the entirety of these past 5 years (taking a break right before the release of Spring Day), my love for BTS has stayed strong regardless of whether I was keeping up with their current activities or not. I became an active stan again right before their release of Love Yourself Answer, and now, here I am!

To get into my review, remember that these are all my personal opinions and I have no education in music whatsoever. My thoughts might not be very eloquently explained considering that this is the first time I’ve ever attempted to write a review. However, as a fan of BTS and their music, I hope I can write something meaningful. I’m totally an amateur here, but that’s OK!

BTS’s MAP OF THE SOUL : PERSONA album © 2019 BigHit Entertainment

MAP OF THE SOUL : PERSONA features 7 tracks and has a playtime of 26 minutes. Much like past BTS albums, there is an intro track but no outro. This is just an interesting piece of information, and we (ARMYS) are all wondering if there is a greater purpose for the lack of an outro. Guess we will find out later. The tracklist is as follows:

  1. Intro : Persona (2:51)
  2. Boy With Luv (ft. Halsey) (3:50)
  3. Mikrokosmos (3:44)
  4. Make It Right (3:46)
  5. HOME (3:54)
  6. Jamais Vu (3:47)
  7. Dionysus (4:09)

So far, my personal ranking looks something like this (please note that this is my initial reaction. I will have to listen to the album over and over to really form stronger opinions on it! I think it will take some time for this album to grow on me, which is OK) :

  1. Intro : Persona / Dionysus
  2. Boy With Luv / Jamais Vu
  3. HOME / Make It Right
  4. Mikrokosmos

This ranking is purely based off of the way that the tracks sound. Overall, this album has a very different sound than what I was expecting. Before the album dropped, Namjoon had said that this would be a very “organic” album. No one really knew what that was supposed to mean, but how I interpreted it was that they would be possibly be revisiting their older styles from 2013–2014. Think 2 Cool 4 Skool meets Skool Luv Affair meets Dark & Wild. At least, that’s what I was thinking. My expectations were only solidified with the release of Intro : Persona on March 27. However, after listening to this album, these expectations were not met. And I don’t consider that to be a negative thing.

I can say with confidence that this is really the first BTS album where I anticipated a specific sound. This was partially because I’ve been listening to a lot of music from those three albums I mentioned above. Despite my expectations not being met, I’m not disappointed nor upset. I have no negative emotions towards this album because I can appreciate BTS’s artistry and talent and dedication despite my personal opinions on each track they release. I don’t have to like a song, but I will appreciate the hard work that they put into everything. I can’t say that I’ve ever been disappointed by an album of theirs for this very reason.

Another thing that I’d like to touch on is the fact that artistic stagnancy isn’t something that known to BTS. They are constantly trying different styles. No two songs of theirs sound the same. While similar styles might be apparent throughout their discography, nothing ever sounds exactly like another song. Even within the same album, there has always been an impressive amount of diversity to their sound. They enjoy exploring different styles. For this reason, too, I cannot be disappointed if one of their songs isn’t my personal style or taste. I have a lot of respect for the way that they approach music and how they’re always looking to tackle something they might not have done before. It speaks a lot to their artistry.

Now I’m going into what I like and dislike about each track. Again, these are all my personal opinions. My opinions are subject to change the more that I give this album a listen, in fact, I am already noticing this. I will go over my favorite points to these songs as well as what stands out to me the most. Let’s get into it.

1. INTRO : PERSONA

When this video dropped on March 27 I absolutely lost my mind. This was exactly the sound I’d been craving from BTS. The fact that we got a Joontro that was so reminiscent of past sounds and styles was very nostalgic and special to many who cherish the 2013–2014 sounds. That specific style will always have a special place in my heart because it’s one of the reasons I became a fan of BTS. Now isn’t the time to get sappy, though.

The entirety of this track is amazing, and I have absolutely no complaints about it. The lyrics, the sound, the flow, the guitar, everything. It’s a very Namjoon-esque song, even though he himself exhibits many different musical styles. I wanted to pick out a favorite lyric from each track, but I don’t think that’s possible with this particular song. It’s personal, and it’s Namjoon’s. I loved this track when it first dropped, and I still love it now.

2. BOY WITH LUV (FT. HALSEY)

I’m going to be honest, I was very hesitant about this track. I don’t listen to Halsey, I’m not a fan of her, and I am always fairly wary of Western artists who collaborate with BTS (for a variety of reasons). However, I appreciate the way that she seems to respect them as people and as artists. This track is one of my favorites, too, ranking in at #2. It’s cute and happy and reminds me of summer. It’s one of those tracks that makes me feel strangely nostalgic or like I’m in a coming-of-age love-story movie. The lyrics are cute, the sound is cute and very much retro pop. Everything about this track is something that I love. One complaint that I have is that Halsey gets more lines in the album version than she does in the music video version. Other than that, I really love this track.

One of my favorite things about this song is the way that each boy sounds, which is amazing to say the least. Halsey’s voice also melds with theirs better than I expected. It’s catchy, too, which I think is always a must for a title track.

Favorite line: Maybe Jimin’s opening “모든 게 궁금해 how’s your day, I’m curious about everything, how’s your day”, especially because they’ve been tweeting about being curious about ARMY. Or maybe Yoongi’s “사소한 게 사소하지 않게 만들어버린 너라는별, You’re the star that turns ordinaries into extraordinaries” because how sweet is that?

3. MIKROKOSMOS

To be honest, when I first saw what some Korean sources were saying about this song, I thought “oh boy, it’s going to be like another Serendipity and I’m going to cry”. That’s not what happened, though. This wasn’t exactly what I expected. Overall, the album was a different sound and style than I anticipated, and this song is one of those tracks that I didn’t expect. I think this song has the potential to grow on me, but currently, it’s not my favorite. The boys sound absolutely amazing on it, though, as they always do. I could see myself listening to this song outside, laying in the grass and watching the sun set and the stars and moon come out. Maybe I just have to be in the right environment to listen to this song to truly appreciate it. Again, this is a song that I think will grow on me after a while, and I’m going to give it time.

Something that stands out to me is the instrumental. I’m someone who gets really caught up on chords and how they’re grouped together because I definitely believe the chords used in any song have their own special kind of power. This song definitely embodies some whimsical, magical feeling. Like discovering an enchanted forest where the flowers glow in the dark and the stars shine extra bright. Vmin’s harmonizing moment in the shortened version of the chorus around 2:55 is also extra special for me.

Favorite line: “어떤 빛은 야망, 어떤 빛은 방황, 사람들의 불빛들, 모두 소중한 하나, One light is ambition, Some light is rebellion, People’s lights, All are precious

4. MAKE IT RIGHT

This song… Was written by Ed Sheeran which is a major :/ moment for me. Not a fan of him or his music. And when you listen to this song, it’s very evident that it’s an Ed Sheeran song. Despite him not singing on the track (thank god), the song screams “written by Ed Sheeran”. If I type his name one more time I might lose my mind. With that being said, I actually don’t dislike this song. I think it’s catchy (which is a given considering who wrote it and how his songs never leave the radio) but I don’t hate it. I think the song fits the boys’ voices pretty well, but at this point I believe that they could make even the worst mash up of intrumentals and notes sound like you’re entering heaven. I think, surprisingly, this song has the potential to move up on my ranking. The more I listen to it, the more I find myself liking it.

The beat is actually pretty nice; it’s calm and simple, but not in a negative way. (I don’t think a song necessarily needs to be complex to be good. Simple instrumentals can be great, too.) What really stands out to me is Hoseok’s verse, mostly because he sings. Anytime I hear Hobi sing my heart grows a little bigger. I think the lyrics are nice, but I’m more interested in the way this specific track sounds than its actual lyrics.

Favorite line: Yoongi’s verse! I’s a lot to copy, and I’ve already being droning on for a while. It’s a beautiful verse and very… him. I appreciate it.

5. HOME

I’d like to start off by saying that Adora (one of BTS’s producers under BigHit, for those who don’t already know) played a role in the production of this song, and others on the album as well. I have every right to believe, at this point, that she has the golden touch. Basically every song that she’s been a part of is one that I really love, and her vocals just add a special touch. I adore Adora. Besides that, the lyrics to this song are very meaningful. It’s another one of those songs that BTS has dedicated to us as a testimony of how much we mean to each other. It’s always nice to be reminded that the love and admiration goes both ways.

The sound of this song is amazing, and I really do enjoy listening to it. Their voices sound amazing, the instrumental is amazing, the lyrics. I’ve seen some people on Twitter comparing this song to Paradise, probably because of their R&B styles. I think that’s one of the reasons that I love this song. It reminds me of songs I grew up listening to; it’s familiar but not too similar to any other song. The familiarity and meaning behind the song makes it extra special.

Favorite line: “말을 안 해도 편안할 거야, 너만 있다면 다 내 집이 될 거야, It’s comfortable even as you say nothing, With you, anywhere will be my home

6. JAMAIS VU

This is one of those sad love songs that I really enjoy. The Seokjin/Jungkook/Hobi sub unit is something I hope to see more of in the future. Their voices all compliment each other so much. Jin sounds amazing, Jungkook sounds amazing, Hoseok sounds amazing. All around, a great song. The heartbreaking ‘I still love you’, almost desperate, aesthetic of this song is something that I am a sucker for. The melody is great and really catchy. This song overall is just an exceptional blend of their voices, the melody, the instrumental. I really do love everything about this song.

Something that stands out to me the most is just how beautiful all their voices are, but especially Seokjin’s. I think this style really fits Jin’s voice so well, and you’re really able to hear the emotion behind all of their voices. The idea of jamais vu being the opposite of deja vu where you have experienced something multiple times but you can’t seem to place your finger on why it’s so familiar to you is epic. The overall desperation that this song embodies is absolutely perfect to me. I want more.

Favorite line: I actually can’t pick one… I think all the lyrics together complete the song really well!

7. DIONYSUS

There is a lot that I want to say about this song, but I’m trying to stay slightly professional (that’s a joke) in this review. When BTS tells me to get drunk, I instantly want to drop everything and do exactly that. This song is the hype that I was waiting for. I’ve heard some people call this a messy sounding song. I’d like to say that sometimes you need to listen to a “messy” song to be grounded and humbled a bit. In my opinion, this is not a messy song. This is absolutely one of my favorite tracks on the album, and I think it has the potential to become one of my overall favorite BTS songs. I have no doubt that if they perform this song on their tour, it’s going to be one of the most energetic performances of any night. One of my favorite things about this track is the rock/metal instrumental and how that mixes with other hip-hop sounds.

This song is very much in my element. Seokjin’s screams mixed with the rock n roll sound really makes me want some sort of a BABYMETAL sound in the future… Can we also take a moment to appreciate the lyrics? Get drunk and screw the system. Party until you can’t anymore. Come on! Thank you, Jung Hoseok, for this masterpiece. I have no complaints about this song and I am not getting tired of playing it over and over anytime soon!

Something that stands out to me is the chorus, specifically the one with Taehyung and Hoseok. Excellent. I’m doing the chef’s kiss even if you can’t see me. Obviously another stand out point is the guitars and overall rock vibe, which I will continue to hype up until BTS releases more metal-esque songs. Please, I am on my knees begging.

Favorite line: “쭉 들이켜 (창작의 고통), 한 입 (시대의 호통), Drink it up (the pain of creation), One shot (the scolding of this era)

That pretty much sums up my review of this album. If you made it through this far, I just want to thank you. I have a lot of thoughts but when it comes to actually writing them down, I can get a little caught up. This might not be my most eloquent explanation ever, but I enjoyed writing this. The more I listen to this album, the more excited I feel. I am so thankful to have BTS in my life, and I’m so glad that we have this mutual support system and love and admiration and respect between us. I hope everyone else is enjoying this album as much as I am!

Also, congrats to the BWL music video reaching 100million views on YouTube! Super proud and awaiting the performance on SNL tonight :-)

--

--

tiger the bts stan

I have a lot of words and a lot of thoughts, but they never seem to be enough…20 | seattle