Modular Drone Platform for Everyone: PIRA!

Minorpreneurs
3 min readJun 26, 2018

--

Founder of PIRA, student of Minorpreneurs Mehmet Ali Makbuloğlu, describe PIRA

Hello, I am Mehmet Ali. I have extreme interest about quadcopters last four years. I am collecting quadcopters, also I design them. The beginning of my interest has formed making a drone that delivers medicine from pharmacies to people. In this process, I did not have technic information but because of open source culture I formed my substructure.

In the meantime, I studied to show people that this culture adds to me and I introduced my idea about education technology with many teachers. I couldn’t break away this culture, since they were steps which made me who I am. I left the project for pharmacies but, I decided to solve the biggest problem when I make this Drone. After I shared my dreams with MinorPreneurs team, they tried to guide and support me. In this way, I started to realize my dream with a great team that was trying to make sure that the dreams never remained a dream. We are offering a modular drone which developable to people, who wants to make projects with drones, do not see just a camera with 4K capture tool. Now as a team, we are developing this solution.

PIRA basically occurs arms which have different sizes that puts on body and parts for different missions. The user first selects one of the arm options having two different propellant sizes, 1045 or 1155, depending on the purpose of the task to be defined. After that, one of the module sets which is suitable for the purpose of the task to be defined is selected and attached to the bottom of the body.

Two modules will be introduced at the launch of the product, but in order to ensure that the diversity of the species can be sustained in the direction of user requests, the types of modules that will follow are determined by the product users in the social media voting result. Every month, the winner module produced by us and offers to user on the internet under the headings DIY (Do It Yourself) and BIY (Buy It Yourself). If the user wishes selecting the DIY option, he/she can buy the diagrams of module and making by her/himself or selecting BIY option he/she can buy the module that produced by us. PIRA’s modular system will be shared as open source so that the modules can generate their own in order to increase user interaction in the continuation of this ecosystem.

Thus, he/she might purchase without prejudice, might produce ready-made design, and he/she might also produce his own module in his own experience and share it with the community. On this account, the user will be able to use the drone freely, including the production of consumer society. PIRA is a drone for people who want to use Quadcopter for hobby, project and education purposes that allows them to make changes to, use, experience and develop their own projects.

You can watch his TEDx speak!

--

--