College Adventures: Scary Night and Strokes of Luck

Ekwenugo Mirabel
6 min readMar 5, 2017

--

It was one of those cold mornings in December 2011. I sat on my bed, smiling and super excited as Enenu, my bestie in University had just told me that we were chosen to be facilitators for the Nigerian Presidential and Gubernatorial elections that year. I was very happy because I was going to be part of the electoral process, but I wasn’t thrilled about going to Okpoga where our names fell under.

I had to travel to Okpoga on Friday, a day before the election. A very good friend of mine, Tony, had called his sister, Aunty Joy, to inform her that Enenu and I will be staying with her during our stay in Okpoga.

From Makurdi, I would have to take a bus to Otukpo and then take another bus from Otukpo to Okpoga. It would take me 2 hours 30 minutes to get to Okpoga from Makurdi in total. I had forgotten to charge my phone that morning before leaving for lectures which ended at 4:00pm. I was sure the 20% battery left would last until I get to Okpoga.

I got to the park at almost 6:00pm. On arrival, I saw that there were no available buses because most people would rather stay in Makurdi for the weekend. I started to panic. What was I going to do? It was getting late already. I picked up my phone and called Enenu. She had already gotten to Okpoga and she had located Aunty Joy’s house.

I waited in the park for almost an hour when suddenly, a 1994 red Volkswagen Passat wagon drove into the park. The driver drove in to pick up people to Otukpo since he was headed that way. I picked up my small bag, paid a sum of N1200 (almost double the original fare which was N700) and hopped into his rickety vehicle.

As the journey began, I glanced at my wristwatch and it was already 7:30pm. Time was running so fast and my panic mood set in once again as my phone battery was almost dying.

The journey from Makurdi to Otukpo was supposed to be just an hour long, but the Volkswagen vehicle was moving too slow. I knew it would take a long time to get there.

We arrived Otukpo at exactly 9:50pm as opposed to 8:30pm. Everywhere was so dark. I was only half way through my entire journey and I couldn’t turn back at this point. My phone battery was already at 10%. I switched it off so as to retain enough battery to call Enenu when I get to Okpoga.

The Volkswagen dropped me off at a park in Otukpo where I could get a bus to Okpoga.

I sat down on a piece of block inside the park in Otukpo anxiously waiting for another vehicle that’ll take me to Okpoga. I glanced at my wristwatch once again and it was 10:15pm already. I became very uneasy. I wanted to turn back to Makurdi. At this point, I regretted coming all the way just to make a few bucks. I thought of my mum and what she would say if she knew where I was.

Finally, around 10:30pm, I saw two round lights entering into the park. It was a small car. I prayed silently that it would head towards Okpoga. The driver came out of his car and started shouting “Ugbokolo! Ugbokolo! Ugbokolo!”. I hesitated a bit and then went towards the car. Ugbokolo was a town before Okpoga. I knew that if I get to Ugbokolo, it wouldn’t be difficult getting to Okpoga from there. I jumped into the car quickly and gave the driver my fare.

It was almost midnight when we got to Ugbokolo and everyone dropped off. By this time, everywhere was pitch black. There were no buses in sight and all the shops had been closed. I stood there wondering what I had gotten myself into. I tried to stay positive. I just needed to find an “Okada” — the bikes used for local transport — that’ll take me to Okpoga.

I stood there with two other guys who were also heading to Okpoga. I started a conversation. “Are you guys also waiting for an okada?” I asked. “Yes”, one of them said. “My name is Ben and this is my friend Kenneth”, he continued.

Soon after, a bike appeared out of nowhere and Ben asked me to go with it. He said they’d wait for another one to come by. The cyclist started his bike and we were headed for Okpoga. At last, I was on my way to Okpoga.

Almost immediately we hit the road, he diverted away from the express road into a narrow path way and I panicked a bit. “Oga, which road are you taking?”, I asked. “Police people dey stand for front so I wan use here burst out for the other side”, he quickly replied in Pidgin English. Not long after, we drove out onto the express road and I was relieved.

Just as we drove out, his bike came to a halt. “Oga, what is wrong with your bike?”, I asked. “E be like say oil don finish o”, he said again in Pidgin English. What??? Oil??? In the middle of nowhere??? I was scared.

I looked around me and everywhere was silent and deserted. There was no house in sight. The only light I could see was from the headlight of the okada. The driver parked his bike, and told me to wait beside it. He said he wanted trek to a nearby village to get oil. Before I could say a word, he disappeared into the darkness. I stood there alone. Just me. On the side of a large express road. There were thick bushes on both sides of the road.

I thought of my mum again. She would be so sad if she knew.

I heard some voices coming from inside the bush behind me. My heart began to race at 1,000 beats per minute. I was afraid. I hurriedly crossed over to the other side of the express road and began walking forward. I could still hear the voices. They sounded like a group of men. I began to pray in my heart. I felt a tear roll up the corner of my eye and my hands were shaking.

Just as the voices were getting closer, I saw the headlamp of a vehicle coming from afar. The light was a little dim. I stayed close to the express road and started waving. The vehicle sped past me. I felt sick. Suddenly, the vehicle started to reverse. When it got to where I stood, I heard people shout “Hurry, get in!”. I rushed in without thinking.

It was Ben and Kenneth from the park at Ugbokolo. They found a car going to Okpoga after I left with the okada. They asked me what I was doing by the side of the express and where the okada driver was. I tried to speak but I couldn’t. I was really shaking. I burst into tears.

When we finally got to Okpoga, I was only able to mutter a “Thank you” to them. My face was covered in tears. I was weak. I thought about what would have happened to me if they hadn’t shown up or reversed back to pick me.

I was surprised to see Enenu and Aunty Joy standing at the park’s entrance waiting for me.

They had tried calling my phone severally and were both very worried.

“What happened? When did you leave Makurdi? Are you alright? What happened to your phone?”, there were just too many questions. I told them that I was really tired and wanted to go home.

We got to Aunty Joy’s little one room apartment. I headed straight for the bathroom. Took a long bath and changed into sleeping clothes.

I laid on the bed awake throughout the night as I recalled the incidents that had happened that day.

Why did I make the choice to come out here in the first place? Is the experience really worth everything I went through?

Till this day, I ask myself those questions. I guess the answers are for another episode.

--

--