Hospital / How I created my 2D assets in three months.

Achilles Maziotis Vasileiou
2 min readFeb 16, 2023

Artstation : https://www.artstation.com/achillesmaziotisvasileiou9

Creating your own game assets can be challenging. As a game developer, I’ve always been interested in creating unique assets that would stand out in my game. In this article, I’ll share my journey of how I created my own game assets, from the initial ideas to the finished product.

Before starting to create my assets, I spent some time thinking about what I wanted to achieve. I decided to create a game with a dark , top-down , 2D and eerie atmosphere, so I knew that my assets would need to reflect that. I also wanted to keep the design consistent throughout the game, so I decided to create all of the assets in the same style.

How I create my 2D assets for my game :

  • Once I had a clear idea of what I wanted to create, I started doing some research. I looked at other games with a similar style and took notes on what worked well and what didn’t. I also looked at various art styles and techniques to get inspiration.
  • First, I found some references .

• Reference

  • With my research done, I started sketching out my ideas on Affinity Photo and Designer .
  • In order to create the assets , I started using vector graphics to design the objects I needed.

• Version 1

  • So the assets that I had created were simple, without textures, depth and realism.
  • The next step was to learn how to improve the assets. I needed to implement techniques and details that would add some realism.

• Version 2 ( Without Textures)

  • Now at this point i have created a decent asset.
  • The final part of the asset creation process was to add textures.

• Final Version

  • Creating my own game assets was a challenging but rewarding experience.
  • It took a lot of trial and error, but I eventually created a set of assets that I was happy with for my game.

Artstation : https://www.artstation.com/achillesmaziotisvasileiou9

--

--