Reflect on the difference between mathematics and numeracy. Provide some real life examples, this might include videos, photographs or other creative mediums.

Mirryndah Nixon
2 min readAug 26, 2018

Trying to wrap my head around the concept of mathematics was already a challenging thing for me to do. But then finding out there was a difference between mathematics and numeracy was a whole new world for me.

As I watched a few different Youtube videos trying to grasp the concept of these two subjects, I realised that I wasn’t as silly as I thought at maths. I actually used numeracy continually throughout my day and I had no idea I was doing it.

Discovering that numeracy is just us using our basic maths skills in our daily lives was very uplifting me to learn as I have always believed that I have ZERO maths skills at all.

Recapping to my fortnightly Woolworths grocery trips, I thought about the mathematical thinking that I use to make sure that I keep within my budget. I am a stickler for sticking to my budget and trying to keep my groceries under $200. My technique is that I can get 40 items if the items are $5 each. If they are more than I go without one thing on that list so that it takes up the place of the 2 items which equal the $10. This is numeracy!

Now my mathematical thinking in a classroom setting has never been a great asset of mine, so I thought, but it must actually be better than I thought if my daily use of numeracy is actually a really strong point of mine.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qj5j_yfe8Vc

--

--