Mirzaeevas
2 min readApr 24, 2021

--

What is an idiom?🤷‍♀️

Hey there! I hope you are doing well. Let’s cut to the chase. What is an idiom? As we know every language has interesting idioms, collocations, expressions. Expressions have a literal meaning. In addition to literal meanings, they also have figurative meanings. That point is related to idioms. Idioms are types of figurative language that can be used to add dynamism. The use of idioms is a high indicator of our language level. You can expand your dictionary using idioms.

Today, I will share 3 idioms with you. The first idiom is "It takes two to tango ". Lemme explain it with an example. “She is judging me with no evidence and she wants to pass my limits. As you know, it takes two to tango and I won’t stoop her level.” Quite simply, there is a situation or argument that involves two people and both of them have responsibility for it.

The second one is " It drives me up the wall" or you can use "It drives me crazy, it drives me nuts". First of all, let’s check an example : " I do love reading a book. I consider, reading a book is essential for improving but when people say that I don’t like to read the book. It is useless for me. It drives me up the wall."

The last one is "Like a kid in a candy store" Here is an example: " Universities closed for two years due to quarantine. According to the latest news universities will open soon. When I heard this news, I was like a kid in a candy store. "
As far as we are concerned, this idiom means to be very excited about something. Well, I hope you got what I explained. Take care of yourself. Catch you later!!🙋🏻‍♀️

--

--

Mirzaeevas

Hey!! I'm here to share my thoughts with you.🙌 You're welcome🦋 Instagram: @mirzaeevas