Sounds Like User Experience

Mishko Lahoda
2 min readMay 20, 2023

--

Teenage Engineering is one of my favourite companies. It’s not just because they produce synthesizers and audio interfaces that look and sound great – it’s their approach to design. They truly prioritize user experience in every aspect. The “look and feel” of every single one of their devices is incredible. In comes the TP-7 field recorder.

Listen to the TP-7

I don’t think I would consider buying this device because I don’t really want to walk around recording sounds. But seeing it in action makes me want it. That’s because every aspect of this device is just so tactile. The way it fits in the hand, the sounds it makes when it clicks, the physical buttons, minimalistic screen, and the big spinning wheel. It’s a device with one purpose – recording sounds. Never before have I ever wanted to record something as much as I imagine I would enjoy it with the TP-7. It’s an experience that is designed to perform one function in the most delightful way.

This attention to detail is something we should try to achieve with every product. In a world broken into 15–30 second chunks of short clips, people over-saturate themselves with everything fast and easy, shot off a conveyor belt. It’s refreshing to see Teenage Engineering design something so sleek and intuitive. With polaroids, compact cameras, recorders and vinyl making a come back – I think we’re finding that genuine joy lies in presence and intention. We should all take a step back and enjoy things that offer great experiences over maximum convenience.

--

--