Recovery Bitcoins from Samourai wallet (forget password of wallet)

Pavel Mišík
3 min readAug 27, 2024

--

This article is for everyone who has trouble transferring their Bitcoins from the Samourai wallet to another one and you forgot password or didn’t write.

I’ll tell you my story. I needed to transfer Bitcoins, so I chose the Samourai wallet. I had previously heard that the developer was arrested, but I thought the wallet was still functioning. I generated an address where the Bitcoins were supposed to be credited. However, after a few hours, I noticed a problem — the Bitcoins were not showing up in my wallet.

After some Googling, I found out that the node servers of the Samourai wallet were down. And so began my search for information on how to access the Bitcoins that were on the generated address.”

I found a solution to import the wallet into another one called Sparrow Wallet (https://sparrowwallet.com/download/). I downloaded the wallet and imported it. However, disappointment followed — it only showed the transactions that were made before the Samourai wallet was disabled.

So, I didn’t give up and continued searching for information. I checked the mobile version of the Samourai wallet to see if I could find anything there. After a few hours, I discovered a way to access the Bitcoins that were on the generated address.

Here’s the process I followed to succeed:

  1. First, open the Samourai wallet and click on the icon in the top left corner:

2. Click on tools

3. Once you’re in the tools section, go to Wallet address calculator

4. Once you’re in the Wallet address calculator, you need to select the type of BTC address where your Bitcoins are located. You must change address index if you have more generate address. I had the following address type on address index : 7

**BIP 84 — Native SegWit (P2WPKH) Addresses**
- **Address type:** Bech32 (P2WPKH)
- **Format:** Starts with the string ‘bc1’
- **Example address:** bc1qw508d6qe…7vxarzat4z8r7v

Every address has different private key , so you have to change address index until you find the right address where your bitcoins are.

After identifying your BTC address, click on ‘Address details’ where you’ll see the address and the private key.

After obtaining the private key for the address where your Bitcoins are located, you can use this key to transfer your Bitcoins to the Exodus wallet.

Here is the process to transfer BTC from the Samourai wallet to the Exodus wallet:

  1. Click on the three dots on the right.

2. Click on ‘Move Funds.’

3. Enter the private key you obtained from the Samourai wallet and click on ‘Move Funds.’ The Bitcoins will be credited to your Exodus wallet. Don’t forget to then transfer your Bitcoins to a hardware wallet for added security.

If you need any assistance or have questions, you can contact me

If you found this information helpful and want to show your appreciation, feel free to buy me a coffee 😊

BTC: bc1qq5k3vsmxhm8ak9w6ukwg5jun7e20cjj29eezhg

--

--