Side-effects: FTM Coming off of testosterone after 7 years

Mateo B
4 min readNov 26, 2018

--

The screen shot above and the paper handout I received on the first day I started testosterone from the LA Gay and Lesbian Center has been my go-to for keeping up with my medical needs while on testosterone. I honestly don’t even know how or where I found this information online but it appeared to be the most comprehensive info. Every time I go to the doctors they re-enforce the information above when recommending preventative screenings. I regularly had bloodwork done, pap smears every three years and a DEXA scan done two years ago. However the to make the decision to have a hysterectomy is huge. I ultimately made the decision October 2017 to stop testosterone and let my body revert back to being predominately estrogen dependent. My ultimate goal is to remove my uterus and leave my ovaries intact so I would not have to depend on external sources of hormones for the rest of my life. I’ve given myself a six month period to see if I’m comfortable with the changes. However coming off testosterone is no joke. Below are the changes I experience after 4 months off testosterone:

Periods:

I was given birth control to jump start my ovaries so my body would not be hormone-less. One month of birth control and I was back on my cycle. These period were unlike any other period I experience. I had very painful ovary pain that would start 1–2 days prior to the period starting and last the duration of my period which has now increased to about 5 days.

Homones-less:

The first month coming off testosterone and starting up birth control had me feeling like I was in fast forward mode. My mind was racing and I could not concentrate for long. The feeling was very uncomfortable and I almost caved to start testosterone again because it felt really gross. I didn’t feel like myself and in control and would never hope anyone to have to have this experience. Luckily it lasted about a 1.5 weeks.

Painful Nipples:

A month after stopping testosterone my nipples were very sensitive and painful. I wear a wife beater under my shirts and even the fabric sitting on my nipples would cause pain. I couldn’t sleep on my stomach for three months due to the sensitivity. My OBGYN let me know that it was due to the tissue stretching and fat redistribution. I no longer have pain but now have noticed my once flat chest is no longer that. I’m not considering chest surgery if I stay off testosterone.

Sex:

My sex dive decreased by 10 fold coming off testosterone. I no longer felt this intense need to have sex. Additionally when on testosterone when I would finish the sensation was very focused on my junk and last a few seconds. Now off testosterone the feeling is distributed throughout my body and no longer focused on one location and last for a significantly longer amount of time.

Temperature:

My body no longer feels as warm as previously and I need to wear a few more layers than on testosterone during the colder months. I still run warmer than my cis female partner but I’ve always been the sweatier one in relationships.

Body Hair:

Hair has grown in at a slower rate which is great as I don’t have to shave as often. Facial hair still grows back as same consistency. Hair line as stopped receding which I’m stoked about.

Voice:

Voice has stayed the same. Still a little high pitched and awkward but I’ll take this pitch over my pre-tesosterone days.

When starting testosterone in 2010 I felt I had to have a narrative of wanting to be male so the doctor would give me access to testosterone. However I always felt I lived somewhere in the middle with my gender. I am thankful that I had the experience of a testosterone driven body for seven years but now am thankful to come back to a less stressful estrogen driven body. Grateful now to be living in a body and state that feels perfect.

If you have great health resources or have experiences coming off testosterone please comment below.

--

--

Mateo B

Queer father, husband, animal lover, registered veterinary technician, interested in building apps for the greater good.