These Little Kids Will Destroy You

Mitch Chaiet
3 min readNov 8, 2018

My generation grew up with smartphones. Anyone in school post-2007 has texted and received pictures of test answers to each other. I got pissed off learning MLA formatting when I could deep link just as easily. Most of us were told we’d never have powerful calculators in our pockets — yet a couple of years later, we did.

Welcome to Gen Z, born 1996 and on. We grew up digitally, and are inspired by how much less bullshit we have to live with because of the Internet. Grocery shopping? Why wait in line? Going to drinks? It’s safer to rideshare. Wanna have an adult sleepover? You don’t even have to get out of bed anymore. There’s an app for that.

This is what we do at sleepovers

A smart man named Jason Dorsey continues to preach gospel you most likely need to see. Your kids have cried because they didn’t get enough likes. 9/11 was a day where I walked around my school waving a tiny American flag behind a long line of my peers and didn’t know why. Tesla is my definition of a great American car company, not Ford or Chevy.

k

We don’t know a life without the Internet, aren’t responsible for the world we were born into, and don’t really care if it won’t catch up with us. If your business, whether physical or online, isn’t up to our digital standards, it will be destroyed.

We will live and die with the Internet. Personally, I don’t buy outdated textbooks when a PDF is available for free. I shamelessly scan barcodes with the Amazon app while in retail stores. I also check myself before I post things online because I know I have been building my online reputation since I was age 12.

Can’t watch one of your favorite TV shows because it isn’t on Netflix. That’s ok! Here’s a pirated copy on YouTube. Apple doesn’t want you to do something with one it’s precious little smartphones? Boohoo, jailbreak it! If something can be done better, we will do it better. You will be torn down in the process if you don’t keep up.

--

--