Parents Are Entrepreneurs

Families Are Their Business

Mitch Peterson
5 min readOct 6, 2021

--

Photo by Jessica Rockowitz on Unsplash

“An entrepreneur is anyone who departs from the conventional formula, path, and rules for being successful. They are individuals who have the self-generated commitment, courage, capability, and confidence to make it on their own.”

-Dan Sullivan

Parents are entrepreneurs. Families are their business.

I came to this realization when I substituted the word “parent” for the word “entrepreneur” in Dan Sullivan’s quote above:

“A [parent] is anyone who departs from the conventional formula, path, and rules for being successful. They are individuals who have the self-generated commitment, courage, capability, and confidence to make it on their own.”

When I was in the 9th grade, my friend and I engaged in an extended game of tag… For months, every time we were outside the main school building (i.e., walking to a portable, outside for gym, etc.), the game was on. Thinking back on it now, it’s probably a good thing indoors was off limits. I can’t recall when or why it started, but I remember having a fun time with it.

--

--

Mitch Peterson

Husband. Father of 3 incredible children. I help people take their reading comprehension to the next level. https://medium.com/@mitchell.r.peterson/membership