2018 in Retrospect

Mitchelle Chibundu
4 min readDec 22, 2018

--

It’s my first time writing an end of year review. 2018 was really something and I couldn’t help but write about it.

Life

First off, my 2018 started off on the low (if you know, you definitely know). My life was literally in shambles and I was just floating like debris on the river.

Anyways, you know what they say — “It’s not about how you start, it’s about how you finish.”

Spiritual Growth

I’m so proud of how much I have grown as a person this year. I have discovered way too many things about myself that I didn’t know existed.

In this year, I went back to my roots and reconnected with my Father in Heaven. I became more intentional about my spiritual growth. I tried to read my Bible every day and asked the Holy Spirit to direct me in everything.

I would say developing this strong relationship with God has been an awesome experience.

Adulting

In this year, adulting hit me hard. Phew!

I’ve had to make grown-up decisions and pay grown-up bills on the go. I wasn’t even ready but ready or not, I had to keep it moving. Thankful for family and friends that helped me stay in check always.

Travel

I really wanted to visit Amsterdam and Madrid this year, but I didn’t get to, LOL. Excited to do it next year!

Work

I’ve worked with the awesome people at Flutterwave for over a year now; changing the way the world does business with Africa and all of that amazing stuff.

In this year, I got to learn a lot about the corporate world. I grew from a design intern to a full-time Product designer and it’s definitely been an interesting and insightful journey.

Working with Ted Oladele, Joe Kuuire, Nemi Banigo, and Felix Obinna has been so awesome. I’m grateful to be working with these amazing designers every day.

A Designer, A Babe at Flutterwave. Photo credit: c0depanda

Entrepreneurship

This year, I birthed something that I had on my mind for the longest time. I launched my cosmetic brand called Elma Beauty. It’s a cosmetic brand that provides individuals and professional beauty artists with affordable beauty products.

Although I have had to run Elma Beauty with the little time I find after my day job, it’s been a great experience. I’ve had to do Customer Success, Marketing, Design, Delivery e.t.c and learning on the job has been as challenging as it’s been awesome.

At the moment, we have a returning customer base of over 50 people and we have sold over $1,000 worth of cosmetics. God has really come through for the business and I’m so excited about what we’ll do in 2019.

Our online marketplace

Writing

At the end of last year, I decided that I’d finally share my writings with the world.

The year started and I still found excuses on why I shouldn’t. Finally, in September, I wrote an article and it got a very warm reception. It even got published on Prototypr.io and that was a huge deal for me.

Ever since then, it’s been writing galore. I’ve also written a few things for the company where I work and some other personal articles that I’ll share in the new year.

Reviews on my first article.

In Retrospect

2018 was really an interesting year for me. Started the year really low but looking back, I’m grateful for everything. I’ll say it was all part of God’s perfect design to get me to the point I’m at right now.

I’m so grateful for my siblings, having all six of them before me to guide, nurture and pray for me is a huge blessing and I would never take it for granted.

To the friends I made this year, Chinonso Raymond, Yomi Eluwande, Douglas Kendyson, and Tolu Ajewole, you guys had my back all year round; advising, supporting and pushing me to be the best version of myself.

A huge thanks to Muyiwa Faulkner and Gbemisola Ajayi for all the career advice and motivation. Thank you to Opeyemi Fowler for all the business tips you gave me when I launched Elma Beauty.

To Chidi The Lexash, Elma Beauty wouldn’t have happened without you. Thank you for all the feedback and inspiration.

2019

Next year, I want to take more risks and travel a lot for work, chills and to speak publicly. I also want to write more, particularly design writing and communication.

This year, I have learned, unlearnt, grown and evolved. Come 2019, I am ready to soar!

--

--