One year fun-employed: An unplanned sabbatical to Global Product Design Leader.

Mitchelle Chibundu
6 min readSep 4, 2023

--

A September morning’s fading summer memories set the backdrop for a life-altering decision — quitting my full-time job. This decision was a leap of faith that would test my mettle, reshape my perspective, and ultimately lead to a triumphant comeback.

It wasn’t without doubts, yet fueled by an insatiable hunger for personal growth, which I found unattainable within my existing position. So I left.

Packing up company tools on my last day at my last job.

Post-quitting

Quitting your job that sponsors your visa in the UK is one of the most dangerous things you can do as a skilled worker. The validity relies on working for the same employer. If terminated — through redundancy, dismissal, or resignation — you must explore visa alternatives or risk leaving the UK.

I grabbed the bull by the horns and researched the UK Global Talent Visa. As I studied the requirements, I realised that everything I had done in the previous five years of my career had led up to that point. Every project, article, social post, book, speaking engagement, and relationship was now crucial.

I completed my application in the following days. Tech Nation endorsed me within two weeks, and the UK government granted me the Global Talent Visa. This seal validated the risk I’d taken, proving that my skills and impact were undeniable even without a traditional job title.

Announcing my Global Talent Visa award

When I made this announcement, I thought it was the opportunity I was starting in December, but fate had its scripts to follow.

The False start

Holding on to the Global Talent Visa, I felt like a bird soaring through the skies of endless possibilities. I wanted to spend the next few months recharging before starting my next big thing at Intercom, drawn by the allure of a company whose product design documentation had inspired me since the start of my career.

Two weeks before my start date, I received an email that turned my anticipation into disappointment: they, unfortunately, had to rescind my offer alongside their round of layoffs.

I was in disbelief.

“If this wasn’t where I would do fulfilling projects, would I have to job hunt in the world’s economic state?”

“At least I don’t have to worry about my visa while I figure these out.”

These were some of the different thoughts racing through my mind.

The abrupt withdrawal left me befuddled and uncertain. While dancing with self-doubt, I recognised the role of adversity in making great comebacks.

Still, I had a significant question to answer.

“What next?”

In the turbulent thoughts about my next steps, I decided not to let my life languish in the shadows as I waited.

“If joy graces my day, I’ll embrace it instead of the default of sorrow. When sadness overwhelms me, it doesn’t leave the option to choose joy anyway.”

As Designer Babe®, I already work on rewarding projects, and the Global Talent Visa has demonstrated firsthand the value that consistent effort and determination can yield. With this realisation, I couldn’t sit back and wait. I saw each day as a frame, ready to be designed with my passion and purpose.

In addition to consistently sharing high-quality, engaging content on social media and growing our community to over 50k people across social channels, Designer Babe® has reached significant milestones in the past year.

We trademarked the brand in multiple global regions, published hard copies of the Clueless To Designer book after >3k electronic copies sold, released new issues of the Dear Designer, Write Journal, launched Coloured Layers, produced the Lekki To London web series, partnered with brands such as Autonomous, ADPList, and Selar to improve the design community’s engagement and learning experiences, and we have many more projects in the pipeline.

A collage of my travel adventures

One of the first things I did this year was apply for a Schengen visa. If it came down to the wire, I had more options for where to go. They say the world is a book, and travel allows you to read several pages. I’ve had the opportunity to visit some of my bucket list cities in the last year, including Seychelles, Barcelona, Algarve, Amsterdam, and Berlin.

These cities’ adventures and time spent with family and friends provided a unique chapter in my journey, broadening my mindset and enriching my perspective.

Finding my next role

I kept applying, flowing with life’s currents. Calls before flights, interviews in the middle of content days. As rejections estranged me from my design passion, the teams I spoke with faded into faceless entities, and conversations grew mechanical and meaningless.

April brought hope: a job offer, at last! It was short-lived, as they rescinded it after I attempted to negotiate the terms. Insane.

Fool me one time shame on you
Fool me twice, can’t put the blame on you

It was time to step back and reconsider my situation, goals, and path to achieving them.

The frantic state of the job market couldn’t overshadow that I had been living without paid employment for months. It would’ve been careless to plunge back without purposeful alignment, so I sought companies that shared my objectives.

Rejections remained a constant in my hunt. Nonetheless, these pivotal shifts influenced my approach: decision, attention, diversification and self-assurance.

  • I gave myself more time to invest in my desired roles by turning down ill-fitting job interviews—even the big techs.
  • I listened more attentively during interviews to discover what was left unsaid and bridge gaps with insightful questions.
  • I owned my Fintech expertise and sought industries where I could apply it rather than just companies in the industry.
  • I became more confident in my career path, including all my accomplishments as the Designer Babe. Companies that recognise my entire worth are where I desire to work.

As you might expect, I accepted my dream job offer shortly after reframing my approach.

Fun fact: Of all the jobs I interviewed for, this was the only one I texted my best friend about.

Lessons from the past year

Reflecting as I watch the ocean on a beach in the Algarve

The past year has made me wiser beyond measure that I’d need a dedicated post to share everything I’ve learned.

Here are my top six:

  1. Fortune favours those who take calculated risks. Leaving your comfort zone and embracing uncertainty creates a space for serendipity to play its role.
  2. Adaptability is the key to success in a dynamic world. The ability to pivot and embrace change can open up new avenues of growth and fulfilment.
  3. Embrace the ups and downs of your journey because they can lead to opportunities that align with your passions, skills, and aspirations.
  4. Today’s savings will be tomorrow’s runway. Maintain an emergency fund and diversify your streams of income.
  5. Negotiating job offers requires thoughtfulness. Know when to compromise for long-term gains and when to stand firm in pursuit of your worth.
  6. Not all relationships withstand difficulties. Treasure the precious ones that stand by you in the face of adversity.

“When you’ve reached rock bottom, there’s only one way to go, and that’s up!” — Buster Moon (Sing, 2016)

Something new, nothing borrowed

Today is my first day as the Product Design Lead for Payments and Transactions at Ledger. Curious about why I chose Ledger? I’ve covered it here.

I start this new chapter with a grateful heart, not as a victim of circumstance, but as marble polished into a masterpiece, emerging with newfound strength and insight.

Wish me luck!

Thank you for reading! Find me on Instagram, Twitter, and LinkedIn. If you want to support me, buy me a cup of tea.

--

--