Why I joined Ledger as a Product Design Lead after one year fun-employed

Mitchelle Chibundu
4 min readSep 4, 2023

--

After a year of exploring the uncharted territory of funemployment, today is the start of an exciting new chapter as the Product Design Lead for Payments and Transactions at Ledger.

“Why Ledger?” was a critical question that echoed throughout the five stages of my interview process, and here’s what I told them:

During this unplanned sabbatical, self-discovery led me to envision my desired role. It was time to reflect on what was truly important to me professionally.

Photos from my time at Flutterwave

My career trajectory has taken me through two fintech giants in the last six years, starting when I joined Flutterwave as a junior designer during its first year. I wore many hats in those early days, from writing company articles to curating office moments and organising events while designing solutions that enabled African individuals and businesses to make seamless payments.

By the time I left in 2021, I had advanced to the position of Product Design Lead for mobile products, and Flutterwave had become a unicorn. It’s no surprise that both sides experienced exponential growth.

Photos from my time at Wise

Following this fascinating journey, I headed to Wise, where I navigated the complexities of Fintech within the fincrime and support domain. I joined a team with a mission to simplify international money spending for millions of customers while ensuring an effortless support experience backed by robust self-service tools.

My time at Wise honed my problem-solving and people-management skills and deepened my understanding of global finance interactions.

At this juncture, I faced a choice: Should I continue my fintech journey or venture into a new domain with fresh eyes?

It became clear that I sought a fusion of my fintech expertise with the excitement of learning something new. I yearned for a space where I could approach challenges with the curiosity of a novice yet backed by a wealth of knowledge and experience.

I narrowed my criteria into four categories:

Mission: One factor was critical in my job search — a mission I could connect with. Our mission at Ledger is to secure your digital life. We envision a world where users, creators, and businesses manage their value with ownership and freedom.

I was particularly struck by how Alison, Head of Product Marketing at Ledger, eloquently described it during our conversation: “It’s about providing security for everyday people who want to manage their digital assets.” Straightforward and effortlessly personable.

Flexibility: Flexibility isn’t just a buzzword; it’s the foundation of a successful career. It empowers professionals to adapt, innovate, and excel in a dynamic ecosystem. When change is the only constant, flexibility is more than an advantage; it is necessary.

An environment that encourages team members to experiment with unconventional ideas fosters innovation and allows design leaders to do their best work without being constrained.

People: People are the heartbeat of any organisation, which was vital for me. Every interaction with the Ledger team made me eager for the next one. Their feedback expressed a shared vision, reinforcing my desire to work with people who recognise and value the full range of my abilities.

Compensation: While passion drives us, practicality sustains us. In a volatile market, the compensation package had to align with my goals and support my multifaceted pursuits.

The life of an important woman requires substantial compensation to fund it. Simple.

Negotiating this offer required a lot of thoughtfulness because I had two offers rescinded in the past year. Nonetheless, I’m glad I approached it with wisdom and consideration to reach an equitable solution for everyone. Thanks to the team for their patience and willingness to accommodate my requests.

As I start this journey with Ledger, I bring my skills, experience, and a profound sense of purpose and alignment. It isn’t merely a career move; it’s the next exhilarating chapter in my journey.

Here’s to new beginnings and the extraordinary possibilities that lie ahead 🥂

Thank you for reading! Find me on Instagram, Twitter, and LinkedIn. If you want to support me, buy me a cup of tea.

--

--