9. Gino D’Acampo

Mitja
2 min readJan 19, 2023

--

Gino D’Acampo

I keep watching Italian and UK chef Gino D’Acampo. Think his TV series are the best cooking series ever. Gino is Italian born in Napoli. Moved to the UK at age 19. Since then he become a famous chef and TV presenter.

Gino’s Italian escape, Gino’s Italian Express, Gino’s Italian FamilyAdventure…a lot of TV series and 15 books of recipes as well as the owner of 7 restaurants.

So the other day I was watching Gino’s Italian escape episode from Venice. He was gliding through Venice in a gondola accompanied by the original Venice countess, drinking vino, and eating Venetian tapas called Cicchetti. Heaven.

Espresso

Made myself an espresso with a little bit of wiped cream and a small teaspoon of sugar. My only vice these days. Tell you about it some other time.

Among other things, Gino was presenting one of the best risotto in the World made by a famous Venetian chef for over 20 years on the island of Burano.

Gino was talking about risotto walking across the piazza and entering the restaurant kitchen. When he approached the chef his mouth yelled: “Mirkoooo!”. What what?

I rewind immediately because I couldn’t believe my ears. What Gino called him? Mirko? My God.

The chef’s name is Mirko Michelli. What are the odds that a chef in some culinary show will appear under the name MIRKO?

Call it whatever you want. God, destiny, whatever. Supreme forces are mixing in my life warning me over TV to be more involved in writing as Mirko always reminds me.

So my New Year’s resolution is: “Write every day”. Never mind what, just write.

You know, Mirko (my Mirko not the Italian chef) is my friend and an IT company owner.

Originally published at https://medo.hashnode.dev.

--

--

Mitja

Working at the Faculty of Science Banja Luka. Changed 8 countries, and 58 flats, had 2 wives (one of them is still married to me) and had 7 dogs. Got 3 kids.