Mitul Shah
2 min readJul 30, 2016

Getting right UX is hard. Let me show you why.

Here is a cab booking confirmation screen of Olacabs. Couple of weeks back they introduced an option to add corporate profile to your account. Once enabled, you will get a nice report of all your work related trips which you can submit directly at end of month.

Ola is one of the biggest cab aggregators in India

Before confirming a booking, it asks whether this is a personal or corporate ride with simple 'yes/no' toggle button. Seems all good, right? I felt same.

But now consider - I have to book a cab twice a day, every weekday for office commute. And every single time I have to flip that little switch to yes!

And if I forget to do that, then at the end of month I have to go through my personal mails for each such forgotten ride. Download the receipt, update total amount, upload it separately since it won’t be there in my monthly report of work related trips. All because I missed just one tap!

Looking now, solution to this seems simple: add one default profile option in ‘Settings’ section. It is like one day’s dev work. The problem is thinking about UX beforehand.

I couldn’t figure out this issue till I had to look for bills separately last month, how can one figure out before even developing it? How can you think more as a user?

Most of the times we are like “Add a button and push it already!”.