The drunk donkey

Miyazima Patricia
4 min readApr 9, 2024

--

Illustrated by Patrícia Miyazima (aka me).

Hello. Welcome, my dear friend. Now I am you, you are me. We are one to solve people’s life mysteries.

So, come closer.

THE DRUNK DONKEY

> Hi! Aunt Rose? My mom sent me here… I have some questions!

>> …

> Aunt Rose!!?? Hello!?

>> Welcome, The drunk Donkey…

> It is Donnie, but I prefer Don, like a king, since you are old friends with my mom, I forgive you for mistaking it.

>> Well, Don, what questions do you have? You don’t really look…

> Yes, I know, my mom keeps bothering me, I was just taking a sip you know… She is such…

>> First, I reveal the past…

Illustrated by Patrícia Miyazima (aka me).

> Excuse me, but I was talking here!

>> You came here seeking help, so let me help you.

> Hum, so what does this card mean?

>> You tell me. What do you feel seeing it?

> So, continuing, my mom thinks I shouldn’t be drinking, like he did, but there is a difference drinking is my job.

>> Second, I reveal the present.

Illustrated by Patrícia Miyazima (aka me).

> Yes, yes, a perfect knife to go with my perfect throne. I mean it, I am what people call an influencer, maybe aunt Rose is too old to understand, but it is really the best job ever!

>> And what do you really love about this best job ever?

> The empowering feeling, I can do what I love, try fancy wines and beers, give reviews and people love me back for that.

>> So what is it that you seek coming here?

> Like I was saying, my mom thinks it is a waste of time and that I am in fact destroying my health with all the drinking, but it is my life, my decision. I am older enough!

>> I see… And why does her opinion matter so much?

> It doesn’t… but well, she raised me alo..n…evermind!

>> Well. At last, but not least, I reveal a possible future.

Illustrated by Patrícia Miyazima (aka me).

> Just a boring grey frame? You know, I am more creative than that, my channel boasted in just one year.

>> Often, you see what you want to see, but sometimes you must see what truly is… So what is real and what is fantasy?

> Well enlighten me… Nothing is coming from this flat card.

Well, we should help him, dear reader?

What would you advise him?

1 — Don, your dream job is amazing, you get to do what you truly love, just be sure what is this love you are seeking and go for it.

2 — Don, you are old enough to do what you want, if her opinion doesn’t matter, just ignore her and move on.

3 — Don, you can talk to your mother openly and show that you are a grown up, capable of making your own decisions.

((1))

The Donkey keeps following his dream, which is great for his professional growth, but the arguments with his mother keeps getting messier, he decides to move.

A year later and they still do not talk to each other and now the beer only leaves a bitter taste in his heart.

Have a brilliant future, Don.

((2))

The drunk Donkey decides to completely ignore his mother’s advice and starts living alone.

Soon, he begins to make mistakes with his online comments, which leads to a cancellation wave on his channel, now he feels stuck like a forgotten wine at the bottom of the ocean.

Good luck, Don.

((3))

Dear Don realizes that life is not black and white, but shades of gray and that there’s beauty in the nuances.

He has a calm talk with his mother, they understand each other and he decides to keep his job as an influencer, but not with the excessive drinking, which was indeed a problem he didn’t want to face.

Well done, Don!

I hope Don can get a good life, don’t you?

Author’s note: I’m a hobbyist writer in the endless nights. Thanks for reading!

--

--