Godzilla Minus One (2023)

Matthew Gallo
3 min readJan 11, 2024

--

Image Credit: Toho Co., Ltd.

Going into this film, I wasn’t sure what to expect. A political statement bordering propaganda, a popcorn munching spectacle with little to no substance, or another mediocre monster film that thinks a little too highly of its own content. After watching the first few episodes of the newest Monsterverse title Monarch: Legacy of Monsters, I was ready from something a bit more engaging and intelligent. I continually heard reviews from friends and critics raving about the latest entry into Toho’s Godzilla lineup. My interest was cautiously peaked.

I have been a fan of Godzilla films for a while now. That said, I was getting pretty used to the shallow blockbusters and goofy, yet entertaining, beat-em-ups. However, I have always missed the level of depth and meaning that the Godzilla franchise hasn’t revisited since 1954. Yes, an argument can be made for Shin Godzilla, Toho’s previous film, but in my eyes, they only began to scratch the surface of the richness found in Ishirō Honda’s original creation. Godzilla Minus One scratched just the right itch that I have needed for so long.

In the theater, I wasn’t greeted with a pretentious mess, a monster mash, or a political proclamation. Instead, I was greeted with an incredible deep dive into the frightening reality of death, the importance of family and community, and the questioning of loyalty to a nation who seemingly cares very little for human life. The dialogue was thought provoking and captivating. I was able to get completely invested in the characters through what they had to say and I continually wanted to see more and more of them. Shockingly, there was never a time where I thought to myself, “Can we please just see the monster and get some action going already?” With most kaiju films I watch, that sentence has been a staple.

Another aspect that this film handles perfectly is Godzilla himself. This iteration of the character is menacing. He genuinely felt like a threat. A threat that you fear for the characters you are increasingly getting attached to. I found myself sitting on the edge of my seat during the majority of the final moments of the film, dreading possible outcomes of their altercations.

Godzilla Minus One is fantastic, however, I will say it is slightly overhyped. Yes, it excels in many ways (as I have mentioned already), yet even still, it could have benefited from a few adjustments. For instance, the pacing of the film is a bit jagged, some of the moments seemed to drag on a bit longer than necessary while others seemed rushed and there is a character in the film whose sole purpose is to add comedic levity with a tacked on “hero” moment towards the end. I will also be the first to say that, although impressive for the low budget of the film, the special effects of the kaiju was a bit ridged at times.

This film is a must watch. While slightly flawed in areas, it makes up for it in storytelling, depth, and heart. If you are a Godzilla fan, you will love it. If you are an avid moviegoer, you will definitely enjoy it. If you are a filmmaking fanatic, you will find yourself constantly scratching your head wondering how the film looks as good as it does with the shoestring budget that it had. Being all three, I found myself loving every second of it.

--

--

Matthew Gallo

Wanting to write more. Film reviews, theological and philosophical concepts, short stories, etc. Just testing the water.