Michael Salinger
1 min readMay 26, 2017

--

This is FUD. Why is this creepy? It’s probably creepy in the same way that a telephone book was creepy 50 years ago — a book that I can look up anyone’s address?

We have to, as a society, get over this fear of technology helping our lives because of some abstract concept of “creepy.” As long as Google doesn’t share this data with people that has not been authorized by the user, they are using Machine Learning to better the user experience. I highly value this feature of Google Photos as it has made my enjoyment of old photos and my ability to find and surface old photos far better than ever before.

We have to stop focusing on the nebulous “creepy” and start focusing on “harm”. For any of these features, where is the harm? As long as Google acts as a responsible citizen (which it has a history of doing), they should be applauded. If they step out of the line and give my personal data to another company that I haven’t authorized, then they should be criticized. (Note this doesn’t include anonymous targeting for ads similar to Gmail, as the third party advertiser never receives information and it’s all done algorithmically.)

--

--