Dogs and Lasers

Marissa
1 min readMay 26, 2023

My dog, Echo, loves laser pointers.

As I type this up, I’m holding a laser pointer between my ear and my shoulder like an old phone so that I can use both hands to type and still let Echo stare at that little red dot.

Echo, under my office chair, watching the laser pointer.

Echo is older now, a senior dog, so chasing the red dot isn’t always going to happen. I mean it does, right up until she’s panting and laying down just wanting to relax.

But even then, she’ll cry, whine, or outright yell for the light to come back. She wants that light to come to her at that point. She wants to lay there and stare and have the red dot cross her front paws giving her an excuse to just launch herself a few inches forward so she can “chase” without running.

It’s like puppy video games I think. There’s minimal movement on her part, but hours and hours of entertainment all wrapped up in the press of a button.

--

--

Marissa

I'm an anxiety laden weirdo who loves to write! Currently, I'm planning my way onto a 9 month cruise. Just give me 5 years.