Melissa Hastings
4 min readSep 18, 2023

Embracing Failure: The Path to Self-Confidence and Growth

Admitting failure reflects self-confidence and persistence, while hiding failure reveals weakness and a lack of self-assurance. Sharing our failures brings trust, confidence, and the ability to face adversity courageously. But what we do not realize is how darn hard it is to do, and to our detriment if we don’t for it is the very thing that helps us grow and evolve in life. To move on and leave the past behind us.

I am outlining a few things that have been gleaned over the past several years to help me and hopefully they give you some information to serve you too along your path.

Building Self-Confidence and Persistence:

Most of my lifetime was spent in a dark place secretly because I thought that know-one else could possibly have gone through what I went through as a child and into my teens. Later that was proved to be wrong, there are millions of others that have similar stories or their own stories that caused trauma.

It was with mentoring that I came to the recognition that I had had PTSD for many years and the toll it had taken until I decided to do something about it. Admitting failure is a sign of self-confidence as it requires acknowledging our shortcomings and taking responsibility for our actions. By accepting failure as a stepping stone to success, we cultivate resilience and the persistence needed to overcome obstacles. Embracing failure fuels our belief in ourselves and strengthens our determination to keep trying until we succeed. And, try we must for the possibility of being stagnant, drying up and dying. There is so much more to learn, see and be in life.

Fostering Trust and Confidence:

Sharing our failures builds trust with others. Transparency about our challenges and setbacks establishes authenticity and vulnerability, fostering deeper connections. This is something that is so important and when I discovered how to be my authentic self that was when I could do and be it for others. When we confidently share our failures, we demonstrate trust in ourselves and, in turn, gain the trust and respect of those around us. What I have found is that having trust and confidence in myself makes things just a bit better when having to tackle the next problem, hurdle, or wall that I am confronted with.

Cultivating Courage and Resilience:

Admitting failure enables me to face future failures with courage. By openly acknowledging my shortcomings, I break free from the fear of failure and embrace the lessons embedded within each experience. This courageous mindset helps me develop resilience, adaptability, and the capacity to learn from my mistakes. Through failure, it is the discovery of my own strength that helps me become better equipped to navigate life’s challenges.

One of the things I am learning about now is how to change the old pessimistic script into something much more encouraging. Turning things around 180 degrees to build strength, honesty, authenticity, and self-love that wasn’t there before.

Fostering Empathy and Shared Learning:

Sharing our failures invites others to relate to our experiences. I have become a part of groups that help support growth, read books to excel in information on many subjects and leave myself open to explore new avenues. We are not alone in our adversities. When we openly communicate our failures, we create a supportive space where others feel encouraged to share their journeys as well which is impowering too. This exchange fosters empathy, compassion, and a shared sense of growth and a willingness to strive and survive in a happier spiritual place.

To effectively share our failures, we must avoid whining or venting. Instead, focus on being open, honest, and receptive to comments or constructive criticism. Authentic communication encourages others to empathize and ask questions, seeking more details. From embracing all of this, we shift from dwelling on failure to actively working toward solutions and personal growth.

When I admit failure, it is an essential aspect of building self-confidence and persistence within me. Sharing our failures fosters trust, confidence, and the courage to face adversity head-on. Through genuine and transparent communication, we cultivate empathy, learn from others’ experiences, and realize that we are not alone in our struggles.

As we all overcome hurdles in life, our focus is redirected, and by harnessing the lessons we learn we propel ourselves towards new goals.

Embracing failure becomes a transformative journey leading us to personal growth, resilience, strength, and lasting fulfillment.

As always, my friends, be well, be blessed and be grateful for absolutely everything no matter what it may be, good or bad. They are all gifts from above.

Have an awesome day!

M