Flatiron Mod5… And Beyond

Se Min Lee
2 min readOct 1, 2020

--

Since it is the last mod of Flatiron, I thought it would be nice to have post-graduation to-do list written down. I will try my best to keep up with the list and come back to this blog to remind myself and keep track.

  1. Work on my solo project and presentation.
  2. Practice

While I do think that projects are really important to curve our skills to the finest, I also think that skills such as problem solving, data structure, and algorithms are also very important to get us through technical interviews. I’ve started working on 30 Days of Code at HackerRank using Javascript. I have used other websites such as edabit and codewars, but so far I have been enjoying HackerRank very much.

HackerRank offered Virtual Career Fair recently, which I attended and listened to Walmart job fair. They also hand out certifications, which you can post it in LinkedIn.

3. MongoDB

During my Mod 2, I’ve started working on MongoDB at university.mongodb.com. I’ve completed chapter 1, basics of MongoDB, and realized why MERN stack is so powerful and popular to use. I wasn’t able to continue to next chapter in Mod 3 and 4, but I am planning to go back to it as soon as I can.

4. Interview Prep

It’s important to polish your portfolio and coding skills, but we’re doing so because we want to land a job.

HackerRank offers Interview Prep Kit, so I am planning to take a peek at it after the solo project presentation.

There are also loads of sample interview questions at github. Below is one of many github sample questions.

5. SNS

I am not much of a SNS person, maybe just instagram to post pictures of my daughter so I can take a look at it later. But lately, I’ve been very addicted to LinkedIn. To make myself feel better, I find it very helpful to read through LinkedIn posts from other software engineers. They post snippets of codes that they have worked on, and I’ve written it down elsewhere so I can go back to it to take a better look at it later.

Also speaking to a current software engineer who graduated from a bootcamp, I learned how important it is to post what codes I have worked on and written.

That is it for this blog, I enjoyed being part of Flatiron School, and I hope every one of my cohort can land their dream job.

--

--