The Vehicle Setup — Part II

Madelynn Martiniere
4 min readSep 29, 2017

--

In Part I, I showed the folded up version of my setup, which is what I use when I’m tent camping, weather permitting.

However, it’s been cold at night this past week. Really cold, like down to 30° F. It’s definitely surmountable with my sleeping back, quilt, and canine bed warmer, but it was as good of a time as any to break out the live-in car setup.

As a reminder, here’s the bed folded out:

The bed/storage unit in it’s final state — minus everything else in my car.

Here’s what it looks like all filled out!

With all of the stuff.

The curtains are a godsend, and I find they do keep not only prying eyes away, but also keep me from baking in the morning sun.

My only gripe so far is that what I’ve gained in storage, I’ve lost in headroom. That means getting in to the bed feels like trying to get on the top bunk of a bunk bed after a few shots of tequila. It’s not graceful by any means.

It also means it’s kind of difficult to use the bed for anything but a bed. So if I want to read a book, or write in my journal, it’s not the most comfortable. But most nights I’m able to work on my makeshift desk until ready to go to sleep.

While I adore my Big Agnes Air Core Ultra sleeping pad, it’s more narrow than the frame itself, so I’d love to find a piece of foam to put beneath it that can add more cushion. For now, I’m using the quilt as an additional layer between the frame and the sleeping pad, which also has the added benefit of an extra layer on those cold nights.

Everything and the Kitchen Sink

I’ve been using plastic bins for just about everything, and they have been amazing. In the trunk I have four major bins:

  • Kitchen
  • Pantry
  • Cleaning Supplies
  • Tool Kit

I’ll break into the first three to share what made it with me on this trip.

The Kitchen Box

  • Mess Kit
  • Backpacking stove and propane canister
  • Aeropress
  • Pot Holder
  • Insulated Mug
  • Small cutting board
  • Kitchen Knife
  • Peeler
  • Various kitchen utensils (from my home, honestly I’ve used none of them yet)
  • 2 sporks (I’m a huge fan of the CRIKT EAT’N TOOL)

The Pantry Box

  • Tea and Coffee. I’m on a big Yerba Mate kick right now.
  • Spices (My favorites: Salt, Pepper, Paprika, Garlic, Cinnamon, Sesame Seeds)
  • Coconut Milk (great in coffee, or mixed with the Chia Seeds for a hearty breakfast)
  • Honey (for coffee, and chia seeds)
  • Oatmeal (my breakfast staple)
  • Whiskey (because of course)
  • Quinoa (for carb-loading, if I feel the need)
  • A variety of backpacker meals, thanks to a friend and fellow traveler
  • Seasoned Rice Vinegar (for salads)

The Cleaning Box

  • Trowel
  • Toilet paper
  • Cleaning wipes (another gift from a friend, and so useful!)
  • Garbage bags
  • Ziplock bags
  • Sponge
  • Dr. Bronner’s Soap (a favorite — can be used for just about everything and eco-friendly)
  • Matches (for when I inevitably lose all my lighters).

The Dog Kit

All of Luca’s gear fits in his backpack, which stuffs underneath the bed platform.

  • Cleaning Supplies: Shampoo, brush, and toothbrush
  • Flea, tick, and heart worm prevention
  • Food and water bowls + travel sized water bowl for hikes and cafes
  • Ruffwear K-9 Overcoat Jacket(this thing is awesome, fleece lined and waterproof)
  • Bandana (for cooling him off, and for making him more approachable to other folks)
  • Musher’s Secret (a wax for keeping their paws from getting too hot, or too cold)
  • Extra poop bags, of which I have many
  • Toys (best when filled with peanut butter, according to Luca)
  • Treats

Not pictured is his dog food container in the trunk, and his lumberjack sweater.

Other things that I haven’t listed that are hiding within the car:

  • A full first aid kid, and a backpackers first aid kit.
  • Office supply box (stamps, postcards, post-it notes, extra pens, etc.)
  • Maps (I’ve been collecting them for years, most of them are from CA)
  • Yoga mat and TriggerPoint foam roller (I am completely useless without either of these things)

That’s it for the set-up. Questions, comments? Comment on this article, or hit me up via Twitter @mmartiniere or email.

Want to get a monthly newsletter with the key learnings and top highlights of the adventure as it unfolds? Subscribe here.

--

--

Madelynn Martiniere

Cultural scientist + community mobilizer at the intersection of technology, design, and social impact.