25 new Android libraries, projects and tools worthy to check in Spring 2018

Michal Bialas
10 min readApr 17, 2018
Photo by chuttersnap on Unsplash

This is a list of 25 newest Android libraries, projects and tools released in past 3 months. All of them are my personal choice. They are not in the ranked order. Definitely worthy to check and be included in your project or just play with them and have a lot of fun. Enjoy!

1. scrcpy

Let’s get off to a good start with scrcpy! This tool is developed by Genymotion team and does exactly the same what Vysor does (if you’re not familiar with this tool, you can check my article about 10 useful tools for Android Developers).
It provides display and control of Android devices connected on USB. It does not require any root access. It works on GNU/Linux, Windows and MacOS and it is for free.

README is really comprehensive and well-written. It includes how to install and build the project. For Mac users the project is available via homebrew as well. I personally built and installed the project on my own and I can confirm, it works like a charm. I recommend this tool in 100%.

--

--

Michal Bialas

Engineering Manager • 1M+ views on Medium • Software Engineer • I write about Mobile📱, mostly Android, occasionally iOS • Also sharing tech tips & tricks 🤓