Mental health is just as important as physical health

MMU Library blog
4 min readMay 13, 2019

--

Today marks the start of Mental Health Awareness Week

This year’s theme is Body Image but I am going to get very personal and talk to you about my struggle with mental health. My name is Selena and I have PTSD but PTSD does not have me.

In July 2016, I lost my best friend. I lost someone that shaped me more than anyone. Someone that gave me life and taught me how to live it and be the best kind of person I could be. I lost the best Mum anybody could hope for in traumatic circumstances. I didn’t know it then but I not only lost my person that day (if you watch Grey’s Anatomy you know what I mean) but I lost part of me too.

I knew little about PTSD (Post-traumatic stress disorder) until I found out I had it. I mistakenly thought it only happened to soldiers returning from warzones. This is a common misconception but it can happen to anyone after experiencing or witnessing a traumatic event.

I couldn't sleep for a long time. Nightmares every night made sure of that. Horrible images would pop up at random times day and night and literally take my breath away. I became scared of this so I would try and numb myself to avoid feeling bad but ended up numbing myself to everything and everyone. Things I used to love doing gave me zero enjoyment. Other times I would be on edge and so hyper aware of everything that was around me that I would feel sick with anxiety. All the above gave me permanent headaches. I forgot simple things and felt lost. On top of this I was going through the grieving process.

Why am I telling you all of this? Well I for one am sick of the stigma attached to mental health. When I was first told what was happening to me I felt ashamed. I wondered if people could tell. I worried that others would look at me differently. I thought people would think I was mad and treat me negatively. I’m writing this to let you know that if you are feeling similar things you are not alone and help is out there.

We need to work at our mental health the same way we do our physical health

If we cut ourselves we clean the wound and stop the bleeding. If we break a leg we go to A&E so we can start the healing process. Stigma and shame stops too many of us from seeking the help that is out there and it has to stop. Mental health is just as important as physical health. The two are very much connected.

What can you do if you are struggling right now?

We are incredibly lucky that we have an excellent Counselling, Health and Wellbeing Service at Man Met. I can personally vouch for the care, compassion, professionalism and confidentiality they give. They are an excellent first port of call. https://www2.mmu.ac.uk/counselling/

Your GP will also be able to give you help and advice and get you on a treatment plan.

Don't suffer alone. Talk to someone whether that’s a partner, friend, family member, or someone on a helpline. Help is there. You just need to ask and give yourself the opportunity to get better.

To get a rainbow we need some rain

I will never be cured of PTSD. Often when I think I’m doing better it will pop up again but by looking out for the signs and taking care of myself I have learned to live with it. I have PTSD but it does not have me.

--

--