The Value of UX

Melissa Ziegler
2 min readSep 20, 2023

--

This week, I learned a lot about the value of UX through the IDEO method cards. Reading through these cards gave me so many more ideas about how to conduct user research that I previously have not thought/known about. After thinking about using one method from each category to conduct research, I better understood the depth of research methods and how many questions would come to mind that I could ask users just when thinking about performing certain methods. This gave me a great understanding of the value of UX because those methods and questions made me think deeper into understanding users’ thoughts, actions, and values and how important they are to consider when designing something. UX and these research methods are especially important to consider when designing for users who are different than you in some way — age, culture, disability, etc. UX ensures the adaptations and values that are important to various groups are met so that a product can reach a wider audience. Included is an image of the card for Character Profiles because I thought this was a good way of taking the observations and data from doing research with children and organizing it in a way to better understand how children think and what they value, especially when designing one product aiming to reach kids of different ages.

Screenshot from https://hcitang.org/uploads/Teaching/ideo-method-cards-2by1.pdf

--

--