What Spreadsheet Can Handle More Data Than Excel?

Mo Villagran
SYNERGY
Published in
3 min readJan 19, 2023

--

Gigasheet to the rescue!

I just can’t get over how much Gigasheet has helped me at work. This isn’t a sponsored post.

Photo by Campaign Creators on Unsplash

True Story

My company just started migrating data into the cloud. We don’t have a robust ETL pipeline or staff to jump start a project whenever we want yet.

The marketing team asked how they could open a 32GB csv file in Excel. I cringed at the thought of it. However, I really wanted to help them. I didn’t want them to struggle for such a simple thing such as opening a file.

Our cloud architecture isn’t ready for another full-blown Power BI dashboard. I needed options. I was toying with the idea of converting the csv file to a parquet file. But how do you justify the cost of Synapse dedicated SQL pool when there is only one or two users?

After a quick search on Google, we found Gigasheet! I’d seen similar tools like this before, which were pretty limited. Fortunately, I decided to remain open-minded. It blew me away during the demo call.

Gigasheet Is Literally Excel on Steroids

The marketing team needed a platform that they could download whatever they needed. Gigasheet does just that and more. It can summarize data on…

--

--

Mo Villagran
SYNERGY

Data Concierge | Author | I help you understand stakeholders, manage expectations and deliver actual value in 7 proven steps