How to Buy and Send ETH to MetaMask

n_ll + QwwQ
4 min readFeb 1, 2020

--

Mochi need ETH like humans need coffee.

(QwwQ) < N_ll! You there?

(n_ll) < Yes. Always here. What going on?

(QwwQ) < ETH is what’s going on. I need some ETH. Do you have any?

(n_ll) < Haven’t you had enough ETH for today, QwwQ?

(QwwQ) < It’s not for me…asking for a friend.

(n_ll) < Does your friend have a Coinbase account?

(QwwQ) < No. How do I…ehem. I mean, how do they get one?

(n_ll) < Tell “your friend” to sign up for one here. Come back once (s)he is all set-up with an account and has added a funding source.

(QwwQ) < Alright, I’m back. What next?

(n_ll) < See that trade button up there? Click it. You should see this pop up:

(n_ll) < Select ETH, then enter the amount you want to buy on the next screen.

Pro tip: buy a little more than the minimum amount required for your level of play. So if you want to play on Firm mode, enter something over 0.25 ETH, like this:

(n_ll) < Make sure all the detail is correct on the next screen, then click Buy now to confirm.

(QwwQ) < Wait a second. Why should my friend buy more than the minimum bonding amount?

(n_ll) < Umm… Do you want to answer that, or should I?

(QwwQ) < Well, I don’t want to get too into it, but if a player forgets submit a PoW on time, the players’ bond with their Mochi weakens and uhh…

(n_ll) < What QwwQ is trying to say that he eats some of your ETH every time you forget to report. And when that happens, you may fall below the minimum bonding amount for your difficulty. TLDR — you earn less tokens on softer modes.

(QwwQ) < Right.

(n_ll) < Anyway, let’s not get into it here. You can read more about that in the Rules. But that’s it. Congratulations on purchasing your firs…

(QwwQ) < Wait, n_ll. It’s telling me that it’ll be at least 3 days until I the ETH hits my account. What in the world am I supposed to do then? I can’t bond with my mochi without it.

(n_ll) < Ooh. Yeah. I forgot about that. Reach out to @ɯnʇᴉuᴉɟuᴉ pɐ in #mochiworld and see if s(he) can do something to help you get started.

(QwwQ) < Alright. Just so you know, this is a huge pain in my rind to deal with. I just want to start playing.

(n_ll) < I know. It is for me, too.

3 days later…

(QwwQ) < So what am I supposed to do once the ETH is available in my Coinbase account?

(n_ll) < The next step is to send it to your MetaMask wallet. Open your MetaMask extension on Chrome. Sign in and click on your account to copy it to the clipboard:

(n_ll) < Navigate to your Coinbase portfolio and select Ethereum under Your assets. On the right side, click the big blue Send button. It should pop up this window:

(n_ll) < Paste your copied address below Recipient. Enter the amount of ETH you want to send in the box on the right beneath Amount (There’s a button you can click to send the max amount, which makes things easy. Hit continue, confirm your details on the next screen, and send away!

(QwwQ) < Boom. How long do I have to wait?

(n_ll) < Uhh… That‘s not up to me. Gotta go.

(QwwQ) < Get your shiny butt back here!

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ < Want more Qawaii? Follow us on Twitter here.

--

--