I quit my depression pills, and I figured out I would never need them again.

Finding Light Within: My Journey of Quitting Depression Pills

I-WRITE FOR YOU
3 min readApr 2, 2024

In the midst of life’s chaos, I found myself sinking into a deep pit of despair. It felt like the weight of the world was pressing down on me, suffocating me with its relentless pressure. The emotional stress, coupled with the aftermath of a painful breakup, became too much to bear. I found myself spiraling into a severe depression, where every aspect of life seemed bleak and joyless.

At my lowest point, I detested everything around me. The once soothing melodies of music grated on my nerves, the company of friends and family felt suffocating, and even the warmth of daylight seemed like a cruel reminder of the happiness I could no longer grasp. It was as if a thick fog had descended upon my mind, clouding my every thought with negativity and despair.

Desperate for relief, I sought help. However, the timing couldn’t have been worse. The world was in the grips of a pandemic, and accessing professional help seemed like an insurmountable challenge. When I finally managed to see a doctor, they prescribed depression pills as a solution to alleviate my suffering.

Initially, the pills offered a glimmer of hope. They provided a temporary reprieve from the suffocating darkness that enveloped me, allowing me to glimpse moments of fleeting relief. For a while, it felt like I was regaining control over my life as if the pills were a lifeline pulling me back from the brink of despair.

But as time passed, I began to question whether the pills were truly the answer to my troubles. The more I reflected on my journey, the more I realized that the source of my depression lay not in external factors, but within myself. It was my own mindset, my way of thinking, that had led me into the depths of despair.

With this newfound understanding, I made the bold decision to quit the depression pills. It wasn’t a choice I made lightly, and I knew there would be risks involved. But deep down, I felt a sense of clarity and conviction that I had never experienced before. I was determined to find healing from within, to unlock the dormant strength and resilience that lay dormant within me.

Surprisingly, the moment I stopped taking the pills, I felt a weight lift off my shoulders. It was as if a veil had been lifted from my eyes, allowing me to see the world in all its vibrant hues once more. I discovered a newfound sense of freedom and empowerment, knowing that I had taken control of my own destiny.

In the years that followed, I faced my fair share of challenges and setbacks. But no matter what obstacles came my way, I never once felt the need to rely on depression pills again. Instead, I drew upon the inner reservoirs of strength and resilience that I had cultivated within myself.

Through therapy, self-care practices, and a newfound appreciation for the beauty of life, I found solace in the simple moments of joy and connection that surrounded me. I embraced the power of positive thinking and mindfulness, learning to cultivate a mindset of gratitude and resilience in the face of adversity.

Looking back on my journey, I am grateful for the lessons it has taught me. I have learned that true healing comes from within, and that the power to overcome even the darkest of moments lies dormant within each and every one of us. By tapping into our inner strength and resilience, we can navigate life’s challenges with grace and courage, knowing that we possess the power to rise above any obstacle that comes our way.

In the end, quitting depression pills was not just a decision — it was a revelation. It was the moment I reclaimed my life and rediscovered the boundless potential that lies within me. And for that, I will be forever grateful.

--

--

I-WRITE FOR YOU

The Passion to write is rising. SEX, HEALTH, FOOD and everything comes in between. Your new favorite startup magazine