First day of my LIFE reading a Book

Mohamedshoibk
3 min readAug 8, 2020
Image credits: Ben white from Unsplash

During School days, Teachers often used to say “Books are one of your best friends because it always tells you only the truth”.

I realized it today when I finally started to Read a Book on self development. After reading the first section of the book, I felt very much frustrated to know that I have wasted all these precious years of my life by not reading any book. I came to terms with it and thanked GOD for showing this path to Awareness.

Name of the Book is “The Success Principles - How to get from Where you are to Where You Want to Be” by Jack Canfield. I have just started reading this book and with whatever I have read, I felt like this book is written for me. Simple English with easy to understand words and true value for the time I have spent reading.

The First section “Fundamentals of Success” talks about the most important principles I need to understand and execute consistently in order to become successful. They are as below:

Take 100% Responsibility of your LIFE

In this principle, Author stresses on the most important thing which is required for success that everyone knows but hardly, very few implement in real life. It is “There is only one person responsible for the Quality of Life I Live, That person is ME. No one else but ME”. If I want to be successful, I have to take 100% responsibility of all the experiences I had in my life, the level of achievements, health condition, success,failure, income, debts, the level of positivity and everything else.

I have a very bad habit of blaming others for my failure while taking full credit for my success. Its when I truly understand that I am 100% responsible for my failure, I will take actions to avoid failure in future.

Its only when I realize that I have created my current situation , then only I can uncreate them, recreate them at my own will.

I have to give up All the Excuses and accept the results wholeheartedly, then only I have chance of Tasting Success.

A study has shown that 99% of all failures come from people who have habit of making Excuses.

I need to get rid of all these bad habits for my own good and to see my successful days.

Formula for Success

In this principle, Author gives the formula for Success.

E+R=O where E=Event, R=Response and O=Outcome

The Events(E) (Ex: Corona) are not under my control but Response(R) (Ex: positive or negative) to the Event is 100% in my control which eventually has a direct result on the Outcomes (O) (Ex: Success or Failure).

If the Outcomes(O) are not as per my expectation, I have 2 choices which I can make:

Blame the Event (E) completely for the lack of Outcomes (O).

Or I can change my Responses(R) according to the Events (E).

Everything I experience today is the Result of choices I made in the Past.

Then the Author tells about the 3 most powerful things which is under My control.

The Thoughts I Think. Change Negative thoughts to Positive Thoughts

The Images I Visualize. Change My Habits and change what I Read.

The Actions I Take. Change my friends and change the way I talk

These 3 things decides everything I Experience.

There are many more principles covered in this section, some of which I will be writing Tomorrow.

All these lessons have brought in me the kind of Positive attitude and change in looking at any particular situation which I was craving for till now.

Thanks to Deepak Kanakaraju for lighting a Fire of Change in me through his 2 videos. I promise to keep this fire growing in me exponentially.

--

--