Mentoring is a brain to pick, an ear to listen, and a push in the right direction

Zia Khan
4 min readApr 29, 2017

--

Today i am gonna tell you the story of my mentor but in order to understand, first of all you should know who is a mentor and what is mentoring:

Mentor-ship is a relationship in which a more experienced or more knowledgeable person helps to guide a less experienced or less knowledgeable person. The mentor may be older or younger than the person being mentored, but he or she must have a certain area of expertise. It is a learning and development partnership between someone with vast experience and someone who wants to learn.

A mentor is a person or friend who guides a less experienced person by building trust and modeling positive behaviors. An effective mentor understands that his or her role is to be dependable, engaged, authentic, and tuned into the needs of the mentee.

Most of the mentors use this mentoring pyramid when they give coaching to someone:

Mentoring Pyramid
  1. Who is someone in your life who has accompanied you or who has been a mentor for you?

I have some great mentors, first and one of my greatest mentor is my mother, who guided me or support me in every walk of my life, she teaches me what is the actual meaning of life, and she made me who i am today. She always inspire me by telling stories and encourage me how to be a better human being and always support for me for studies.

In professional life, i have some great mentors, who always helped me in my professional career, two of them are professors and one of them is the business man and also a career counselor:

1-Umair Javaid, 2-Shahid Javed 3-Babar Bilal Bhatti

2. Please share a story about how they have helped you grow, helped you reach the accomplishments you have achieved, or helped you become the person you are today.

I met Umair Javaid sb six to seven years ago when i was in college, he was my professor and a business graduate of Hailey College of Commerce Lahore. When he delivered us the lectures, i found him very talented and franked person. Then i approached him for giving me a home tuition two months before the exams. In those two months, i have learned a lot from him. He gave me a lot of exposure about life, how to manage the challenges, difficulties in life, he also gave me a geographical exposure of world and gave me an important suggestions for the future, and suggest me if you want to increase you exposure, do explore the world, you will learn a lot. He was my first professional mentor in my life and i am still in contact with him.

Then two years ago, i met a person named ‘Babar Bilal Bhatti’ at my university fellow hostel, he is an Industrial Engineer from Punjab Unversity Lahore. When i started conversation with him, after few days analysis, i found a healthy brain with a healthy knowledge inside him, he gave me a ‘Katharsis’ and helped me in setting my goals and clear my vision and solve my all the curies. He is literally a leader and a great coach and now he is the CEO of an emerging virtual organization ‘Bilal Consultancy Limited’ and I would like to suggest you, do try him at least once if you want to get coached from a great mentor. http://www.bilalconsultancy.com/

Babar Bilal Bhatti with Qaisar Abbas

Then with the grace of God, another great person came into my life as a facilitator in university , his name is Shahid Javed, he is MBA and he spent more than 15 years in Dubai in doing different jobs and businesses. He guided and still guiding all the class about the different phases of life, how to act as a student and how to behave as a professional and how to manage and strengthen the relationships, he brings too much positivism in us and personally I have learned a lot too much form him, now i am looking forward to go for counseling with him. Where i am today doing different things, he guided us to go for different things as well, add some catalyst in your personality and Resume as well.

3- How important do you think it was for you to have humility in order to learn from this person? Would you have been able to learn from them if you did not have humility?

In my opinion humility plays an important role in every persons life, if you are eager to learn something new or if you are committed with yourself. Humility supported me a lot in learning from all these above mentioned mentors. I guarantee you, if I didn’t show humility to them, maybe they didn’t help in those phases of my life and maybe I am not that groomed where I am today.

--

--