Microsoft Product Management Internship Experience

Pratik Mohapatra
3 min readSep 14, 2019

--

Hello, I am really excited to share my amazing experience of 2 months as a program manager intern at Microsoft Hyderabad IDC.

The internship began on 27th May 2019 for a duration of 8 weeks. The first day was onboarding where we were briefed about Microsoft, HR Policies, code of conduct and other important points. All of this happened at the main campus building 1 at Microsoft IDC Hyderabad. One word to describe the campus — WOW! What doesn’t it have? Several cafeterias, pool tables, football, cricket and lots more.

Microsoft IDC Campus Building 3

Post the orientation we were assigned our teams and managers. Our business admins took us to our respective desks where we met our managers and teams. One of the proudest feelings for me was when I got the MSFT ID Card. You truly feel like a full-time employee as Microsoft doesn't differentiate between an intern and a full-time employee. Your ideas are as valued as the full-time employee’s.

My manager Ismail was an excellent mentor & manager. He was really supportive throughout and always helped me achieve more and pushed me to my limits. As a PM intern, my task was to improve the search experience on a particular platform for Microsoft Sellers. The opportunities are endless at Microsoft and I remember my manager letting me lead meetings which included multiple leaders in the field of design and engineering. Over a course of 8 weeks, I learned so much that no other company could have ever given me. I staged many meetings with engineering leads to understand the constraints and technology that could be used. Had many calls with the Redmond team since the product was used by several markets and not only India. The people at Microsoft are extremely helpful and you can just reach out to them let it even be a GM they always are ready to help.

With my manager Ismail

Finally, after 8 weeks I was rewarded a PPO for the work that I did. It was indeed a wonderful feeling as I knew I wanted to return to this amazing company and contribute so much more. The compensation, stay & food are also taken care and are the best in the industry. Also, the Microsoft University Recruiting team is so friendly and supportive. No matter what time, what question it is they are always ready to help and support us throughout our journey. Kudos to the amazing team!

📝 Read this story later in Journal.

👩‍💻 Wake up every Sunday morning to the week’s most noteworthy stories in Tech waiting in your inbox. Read the Noteworthy in Tech newsletter.

--

--

Pratik Mohapatra

Former Product Manager Intern @ Microsoft || Microsoft WW Imagine Cup Winner (Big Data) || Microsoft Ai For Good Idea WW Winner