How to find out the Elixir version that one is currently using

Mohnish G J
1 min readJan 16, 2017

--

Recently, I wanted to lookup the version of Elixir that I had installed on my system. I tried looking around for a command to find one’s currently installed Elixir version, but wasn’t able to find the relevant command easily.

Coming from a Ruby background, I quickly tried a commonly used way to find one’s current Ruby version i.e., using the ruby -v command and aha!, the same pattern worked to help me find my currently installed Elixir version. In the process, I also figured out another way of finding the Elixir version one is currently using and I’ve mentioned both ways of finding one’s currently installed Elixir version in the gist below -

--

--

Mohnish G J

A human being driven by values & a person who cares about people & his work | bit.ly/probono_coaching_mentoring_connect_with_mohnish | Sarve Bhavantu Sukhinah☀️