Documenting my journey to Kaggle’s Master tier. Part 0: Getting Started

Mohtadi Ben Fraj
2 min readNov 23, 2017

--

I have recently finished Grad school at Colorado State University with a Master in Computer Science. I developed an interest in Machine learning and Data science through multiple courses that I took. Wanting to get better in the field, I am setting this new goal of getting to Master tier level on Kaggle.

For people who are not familiar with Kaggle, it’s a platform where data scientists, machine learning engineers, statisticians (or anyone who’s interested in data) compete in challenging machine learning competitions derived from real world problems.

Current Kaggle profile on November 2017

My current standing is in Contributor tier which is 2 levels from Master tier. I want to document my journey to the Master tier and share the hands-on experience from doing that. My initial plan for now is to share one post per month where I detail the different problems that I worked on for that month and share any cool ideas and tricks that I learned. I will also be linking the jupyter notebook for each problem that I work on. All of my work will be available on my github profile.

My next post will be towards the end of November with insights on the problems that I worked on for that month.

Till next time.

--

--