Moinak Dutta
4 min readOct 2, 2018

Match making
----------------------------------
' In a bengali household , a girl if she attains the marriageable age, must be married off. That is an unwritten custom. You can never break it. '
Arunangshu said these to Ahona. His only daughter whom he gave all opportunities that could be given to one's offspring.
He never pressed her for marriage. But now that she had completed her post grads and joined an architectural firm, earning for herself and he also retired from his job, the idea of marrying her off he could not just shrug off.
But this Ahona.
She had not even found a boyfriend even! Forget marriage.
Despite giving her enough liberty to mix friends, she never found anyone suitable.
' finding a suitable boy is difficult baba'
She had told Arunangshu.
Sreetoma, Ahona's mother, had always been pursuing Ahona, to find someone suitable.
Almost every week she brings a new alliance.
She uses her channels with friends, relatives.
' I should not boast of my Ahona's credentials, but she is a very talented girl, having quite good looks and she earns for herself, a self dependent girl...only that her father got retired and I am also not growing younger...if you find a suitable boy for her it would be really appreciated'
She would say to her friends and relatives.
And they , being really helpful people, bring in information about possible grooms.
One doctor came.
He was rejected.
For he after failing to keep appointments for twice, appeared on the third occasion, that too , almost one hour late, keeping Ahona waiting at a coffee shop.
An engineer came.
He was turned down too.
All he was interested was how much money Ahona earned.
Then , oneday, Sreetoma brought a photo of a boy.
' what does he do?'
Ahona asked.
'Does a job of a webportal designer in a private firm.'
Sreetoma replied.
' a software professional?'
' yes'
' I have not a very good opinion about these professionals. They work too much and booze too much too'
Arunangshu opined.
' this boy is not like that...as far I gathered information from Ratna pisi'
' oh that Ratna pisi of yours? She is now into match making ? Her own daughter got married and divorced within one year of her marriage, remember?'
Arunangshu replied.
Sreetoma could make out Arun's worry.
Finding a suitable boy is so difficult these days.
But then this web portal designer.
' okay...I will meet him'
Ahona said and put an end to speculations for the time being.
--------------
Ahona was sitting by the glass window of the coffeeshop overlooking the road.
The autumn evening had crept in slowly.
Only few days back, the pujas were held. Pandels were yet to be dismantled.
One with its facade and bamboo structure was still there just opposite the shop.
'Dhruva...that's me'
A man in beige trousers and white full sleeve shirt appeared before Ahona saying this.
Ahona stood up.
'Please be seated'
She said.
She looked at Dhruva.
Not with any distinguished feature.
Medium height. Bespectacled. Wheatish complexion. Salt and pepper short hair.
Blunt nose.
' nice evening this'
Dhruva said the first thing sitting down.
'Coffee?'
' sure!'
Ahona ordered two coffee with choco toppings.
' have no distaste towards choco chips? I guess'
Ahona asked.
'No...its okay...'
' I love coffee with choco chips so I ordered them'
' that's fine with me too'
Dhruva said.
' really?'
Ahona asked.
' yes...and I must say...you are more good looking than you appear on photos ...at least that was sent to me'
Dhruva said, smiling.
Ahona guffawed.
'What do you think about my looks?'

Ahona asked.
' Your looks? Well...you look definitely decent'
Dhruva replied, a bit uncomfortable, facing such a query.
' only decent? You disappoint me'
Ahona quipped.
'Oh I am sorry '
Dhruva replied.
' if I have failed to appreciate your beauty properly , please do forgive me thinking my not so urban upbringing...mixed not much with girls...'
Dhruva added, sounding almost guilty.
' really? You amaze me! Did not make any friends at college ? That's quite funny! Now to put it frankly, I have many boyfriends...I go out with them...I love to do party at weekends and I love loud music, hot chocolate and I must confess, I am not a virgin either'
Ahona blurted out.
' Oh!'
Dhruva gave out that monosyllabic expression.
His face lost its lustre.
But that was only for a few seconds.
Soon he smiled.
'That's okay with me, like that coffee with choco chips'
He said.
' So you will not take it otherwise if I go to party at weekends and have some fun?'
' not at all, but it would be great if you tag me along too sometimes'
' okay ...I can do that sometimes'
Ahona replied, thinking a bit.
' About my listening to hard rock? Have you any reservations about that?'
Ahona asked.
'Well I like to listen to Metallica and Red Hot Chilli Peppers sometimes...but they do not linger in my mind more than Eric Clapton or Bruce Springsteen or Richard Marx. And songs of Tagore, they just keep me moving. Eagles too. '
Dhruva replied. Suddenly it seemed he got very much talkative.
Ahona looked at Dhruva.
His eyes looked lit up.
'Love music? Do you?'
She asked.
Dhruva smiled.
This time his smile had a tinge of sadness.
' well...once I dreamt of forming a band of boys...but then friends got drifted away'
He said. A tone of resignation could be felt in his voice.
'What about forming a band again? I got some friends who are into music ...btw do you play guitar? They need a bass guitarist'
Ahona asked.
'I can play both...bass, rhythm'
Dhruva reverted.
' done then...let's begin with that'
Ahona replied.
'So we could be partners? '
Dhruva asked.
'Musically yes...about my habits of partying ...they were lies...I love Tagore and Richard Marx and Kenny G and Eagles and Bob Marley and Chandrabindoo'
Ahona said. She was trying hard to stop herself from giggling.

Moinak Dutta

Published fiction writer, poet . Author of full length fictions - 'Online@offline' , ' In search of la radice'. Loves traveling and photography.