I Stand Up to Racism

Mokah for Georgia
3 min readOct 20, 2020

--

Statement by Mokah Jasmine Johnson in response to racist attack during Oconee County Public Forum on Monday, October 19, 2020

Mokah Jasmine Johnson, Closing statement during Oconee County Public Forum

I jumped into activism because a bar in downtown Athens thought it was acceptable to put a drink name with a racial slur on the menu. When that happened, I had to stand up and demand better from the community where I chose to raise my children.

My husband and I founded the Athens Anti-Discrimination Movement. We led the effort to pass an anti-discrimination ordinance. We supplied our neighbors with resources to file discrimination complaints. And we continue to create forums for building unity and understanding.

But last night, I encountered the same brazen, racist hate again. At the start of a virtual public forum for Oconee County residents, an unidentified participant called me a “nigger” and told me to “shut up” before I was even introduced. I left the call briefly while the moderator dealt with the disruption.

Racism and hate are part of politics. I know some people will not accept me or vote for me, just because I am Black. Some of my future constituents may think of me as nigger. But I am not afraid of this. I will not allow hate to stop me from standing up, from speaking out on issues that shape this community, such as protecting public education and demanding justice for Black lives.

This isn’t the first time I’ve confronted hate during this election. I launched my campaign with a rally to #UniteAgainstHate after my opponent voted against a bipartisan hate crimes bill. To make matters worse, he then voted to increase protections for Confederate monuments and block local governments from moving them. In response to the horrific killings of George Floyd, Breonna Taylor, and Ahmaud Arbery, I led a peaceful protest in downtown Athens for thousands of people demanding justice for Black lives.

For months, I’ve been fighting back against racist and deceitful smear campaigns run by my opposition and his allies. I’ve faced racialized personal insults and birther attacks from people targeting me simply because I am a Black woman standing up for justice and seeking public office. I have asked my opponent to set the record straight and condemn these attacks from his supporters, but he has remained silent.

This isn’t just about someone disrupting a Zoom call. It’s about the integrity of our leaders — from Donald Trump to Houston Gaines — they fail us time and time again by remaining silent when their constituents are targeted with hate. They could make all the difference by speaking out, but instead choose to let racism fester in our society.

I believe we deserve a leader who will prioritize human lives over monuments. A leader who doesn’t allow fuel to be added to the fire of division and hatred. A leader who will stand up to hate directed at the people they represent.

Stand Up to Racism” Rally at the UGA Arch at 12PM on Saturday, October 24th.

Join me at UGA Arch this Saturday at 12 p.m. for a rally to “Stand Up To Racism.” Let’s be clear that we will not accept vicious, hate-filled attacks in our community. Instead, we will continue to unite against hate, because the fight is not over.

###

About the Candidate

Mokah Jasmine Johnson is the Democratic candidate for House District 117 which covers portions of Athens, Barrow, Jackson, and Oconee counties. As the co-founder of the Athens Anti-Discrimination Movement, Mokah led the fight to pass an anti-discrimination ordinance and end cash bail for nonviolent offenders in Athens. Mokah is committed to ending the school-to-prison pipeline, working tirelessly with the youth through AADM’s Teen Social Justice Program. Over the last few years, Mokah has led multiple rallies, drawing thousands of community members to demand justice and police accountability.

For more information about voting in Georgia State House District 117, go to mokahforgeorgia.com/vote.

--

--

Mokah for Georgia

Mokah Jasmine Johnson is running for Georgia State House District 117. Learn more about her campaign at mokahforgeorgia.com. #BoldProgress #FearlessLeadership