How to Jump Start Your Writing Career In One Step

Molly Bloom
4 min readFeb 14, 2023

Enter a Writing Contest

Photo by Ariel on Unsplash

I’m not one to dwell on the past. I’m practical and pragmatic. My feet are firmly grounded in the present. So when I wrote my story Do What You Love And You Will Never Work A Day In Your Life in a memoir style it felt all wrong.

I wrote the story for the Love is Love contest. It was promoted by The Narrative Arc for Valentines Day 2023 and I talked about my passion for flowers which has consumed me for nearly 50 years.

It was a huge learning experience for me. I was determined that no matter what, I was going to write and submit a story. My personal challenge.

Of course, life happens, stuff comes up and the deadline was inching closer. No excuses were going to cut it though — I was resolute.

What no one tells you about writing on Medium is how to do it. All those Utube videos on how to get rich etc. are very interesting. I get how important it is to make writing a habit but where do I learn how to shrink the image on Unsplash so it doesn’t dominate the whole story ? Can I do that? Or where to position that image? Or how many images are ideal. Is one enough? Three too many? It took me a long time to figure out how to deselect an image. Wait, you simply press “delete”?

--

--

Molly Bloom

Born in Ireland. Lives in Denver. Floral Artist and Gardener. Small Business Owner. Forever Young. Student of Life. Mother. Wife. Grandma.