The Number One Secret For Achieving

Even High-Achievers Underestimate Its Power

MR. Molly Maguire
4 min readDec 14, 2018
Photo by Jannes Glas on Unsplash

Nobody was reading me the first thirty days I published here on Medium.

It’s a strange feeling to pour your heart and soul in your daily posts, only to have those triple zeros shatter your ego day after day.

Zero views, zero reads and zero claps.

If you’re in that situation now, well, I feel for you and I’m sending you my love.

Hope that helps… 😉

But frankly, it didn’t really bother me that much because I had already decided that I would write every day for a year, no matter what.

And nothing could have stopped me in my tracks, especially not something as mundane as having no readers.

I guess that’s how I roll now.

Almost nothing fazes me.

Going Insanely Big

That’s how you achieve anything.

Think on the biggest scale you possibly can.

Take my writing for instance.

My goal could have been writing eighteen posts in 2018 and that would have felt extremely difficult at the time.

Because remember, I had zero experience with writing anything on a regular basis.

Photo by Elijah O'Donnell on Unsplash

But no, this crazy mofo had to go insanely big and try to write 365 posts in 2018.

At the time, I didn’t even know if that was even physically possible.

But I imagined that failing was always a possibility, even when writing eighteen posts.

And I preferred failing an impossible goal over failing a slightly difficult goal.

Because everyone expects you to fail an impossible goal.

So it’s not really failing.

Shooting For The Moon

Writing every day was not big enough.

I wanted to challenge myself even beyond that.

That’s why, in those first thirty days when I had zero readers as you might recall, I wrote down the goal of having one post read by 1K people.

Back then that sounded outright delusional.

But it happened anyway.

June 2nd, smack in the middle of my daily writing challenge, I wrote a post that hit the 1K reader mark (by now 5.6K people have read it).

Photo by Tom Ritson on Unsplash

I know I’m bragging but I want to show you the power of dreaming big.

And mind you, not all of my crazy goals are successful.

In the middle of the year, I wanted thousand different people to clap for one of my posts.

That never happened (the challenge is of course not over 😉) but hundred different people or more clapped for four of my posts.

If you shoot for the moon, you still end up between the stars.

That’s nothing to sniff at.

Stepping Up To The Plate

Dreaming big has another advantage.

It forces you to upgrade your thinking.

If my goal had been to write eighteen posts in 2018, I could have done that without changing my daily habits.

But the goal of writing one post every day, forced me to inspect my daily habits and do away with the negative ones.

Photo by Fezbot2000 on Unsplash

As a direct result of this challenge, I realized I had to build more connections with high achievers in real life.

That realization could have never happened by merely writing eighteen posts.

Dreaming big forces you to quit the BS and step up to the plate.

And I truly love that.

My former mentor achieved almost everything he went for.

However, when I asked him what his biggest regret was, he answered without blinking:

‘My only regret is that I didn’t dream big enough.’

I didn’t fully appreciate his answer at the time because I thought it was a bit facetious.

But now, I truly understand it and that’s why my advice for you is:

Set audacious goals.

The world needs people who dream extremely big.

The bigger your goals, the smaller your failures.

Click here for the audio version:

--

--