Why Some People Are Weak And Others Are Strong

And How You Can Become Strong Too

MR. Molly Maguire
4 min readDec 12, 2018
Photo by Scott Webb on Unsplash

A lot of people are going to be offended by what I’m about to say next.

Yes, this is one of those self-evident truths that are hugely controversial for some reason.

However, the moment I stop voicing my opinion because I’m afraid of pushback, well, that is exactly when I should stop writing.

And I’m definitely not ready to do that yet.

So if you’re easily offended, now is probably the time to stop reading because here it is, my controversial opinion:

Weak people are always weak. Strong people are always strong.

Think of a loved one you consider successful and count the number of times they’ve been through utterly dark times.

I’m sure you won’t be able to count that number on the fingers of one hand.

Now, do me a favour and count the number of times they flat out gave up.

I bet you that number is close to zero.

The Game Is Rigged

For the longest time, I couldn’t grasp this obvious truth.

I was truly miserable for years because I would give up as soon as things didn’t go my way.

And my loser friends would pat me on the back while saying that it’s okay to fail because the game is rigged and that there’s nothing we can do about that.

In their defence, they didn’t know any better.

Photo by Yutacar on Unsplash

Society has gone from celebrating success to glorifying failure.

And that is an extremely dangerous evolution for that part of society who is already at risk.

Because now, they can cherish victimhood and accept failure as the default condition.

That’s what I did for years.

Captain Of My Own Fate

Luckily, I saw the light.

One day, I accepted total responsibility for whatever dread and misfortune I happened to experience and the rest is history.

I took my life back that day.

That’s when I became captain of my own fate and my life became the amazing voyage it should have been all along.

Photo by Markos Mant on Unsplash

Cherishing your victimhood, pointing at external factors and blaming them for your failures is never going to make you happy.

When I truly realized that, I couldn’t feel sorry for myself any more.

And now, whenever something is not working out, I choose one of three actions:

Change, accept or walk away.

And no, wallowing in despair is not one of those options.

Those times are gone.

Heaven On Earth

I experienced another strange thing.

The moment I stopped feeling sorry for myself, I also had a hard time feeling sorry for other so called victims.

Whenever I see someone who could potentially live an awesome life but is wasting their time being jealous and sabotaging others, it turns my stomach a bit.

We all have an infinite potential to create abundance and establish heaven on earth.

Photo by Juan Davila on Unsplash

And sacrificing that infinite potential to engage in some zero-sum, short-time, destructive and egotistical games is truly sad.

And yes, I have been playing those games for thirty-three years or so, I truly know how devastating they are for your Spirit.

But I’ve been on the mountain top and I’ve seen the promised land.

That’s why I write these days.

If you’re still reading this, you’re definitely part of the silent majority.

The people who are quietly working through boom and bust and who don’t expect any handouts.

They’re the ones who keep the lights burning and the wheels turning, without them we would all be living in destitution.

Becoming as strong as them is easier than you think.

Just stop playing the victim card.

Click here for the audio version:

--

--