Content Distribution

Mike Moloney
1 min readJul 7, 2024

--

I’m a big believer in content distribution. Specifically, distributing content through the means we have.

Typically this involves free, organic ways to attract attention back to a brand, product, person, etc. through social media, blogging, email marketing, videos, and more.

Practicing as a photographer and videographer for over a decade now has helped me to understand the value of the work I create. Something as innocuous as a behind the scenes clip can sometimes be critical in a project or edit. Stills from a video sequence can be re-applied to other areas of a project or advertising rollout.

The syndications are what excite me. Getting the maximum value out of the work we produce to help grow our platforms.

While this can often clash with the art of the work, I find it easier when you separate the two practices. The creation vs. the distribution.

When creating photos, videos, drawings, or any other form of art, I’m not often thinking about virality or maximum impact. At times I definitely consider the potential, but more than not, I find myself in a flow state of capturing the subject or events as thoroughly and professionally as possible.

Later on after editing and reviewing is when the distribution comes in. And this is where the syndications get so exciting. Images and short clips that can be used across Twitter, IG Stories, articles, emails, and beyond. Longer videos for Reels and YouTube Shorts. And full length content such as interviews on YouTube, LinkedIn, and other more engaging platforms.

--

--