Time for Bold and Unwavering Action by the Memphis Nonprofit Sector

Momentum Nonprofit Partners
3 min readJun 1, 2020

--

Friends,

We as a country are collectively suffering. Last week, we watched video on social media and television of a man calling for his mother while being unceremoniously murdered on the street in Minneapolis. The deaths of George Floyd, Ahmaud Arbery, and Breonna Taylor are not simply examples of deaths caused by racist white men. Their deaths are due to a system that has failed them and is stacked against them.

I didn’t join the nonprofit sector to maintain the status quo. I signed up to be an agent of change, not just a manager of processes and people. If you work in nonprofits, you’re probably like me. We joined our organizations because we have a passion for our causes, a love of our city and our country, and a commitment to the people that we serve. 2020 is a year that we all have the opportunity to define ourselves as the leaders that we are by being bold and courageous on behalf of our constituencies, especially those whose voices go unheard.

You can probably name one or more villains in this story, but we have to stop focusing all of our attention on bad individuals. The true, most dangerous villains are inequity, institutional racism, and deleterious public policy that further pushes black and brown communities to the margins. Together, let’s fight to change the laws so that George Floyd, Ahmaud Arbery, and Breonna Taylor’s murders can create change. Let’s rethink who we are as a sector — instead of being just “charities,” we must be change agents. While we should continue to feed, house, educate, and provide safety net services, if we are not working to change policy and systems that are stacked against our communities, we only perpetuate a vicious cycle of treating mortal wounds with Band Aids. Boards, CEOs, and organizations must not stay silent.

As a white man and a CEO of a nonprofit organization, I know that my silence would make me complicit. My silence would betray my African American colleagues, friends, and community members. I’m asking my fellow white nonprofit friends to take a stand during this time and take action where we can. We have to better educate ourselves about the people we serve, especially if they don’t look, pray, or live like we do. We have to show up and speak up, even when that is uncomfortable to do so. Most of all, we must be willing to use our privileges in support of black lives and to end white supremacy. If we, as white people, cannot be brave enough to speak up for the community members that are continuously silenced, then we should step aside. We have privilege and a pulpit and the power to make change. Be bold.

To my African American colleagues, I know you are in pain and I will never fully know the trauma that you’re enduring. I see you, and I love you. This city and this country are better places because you are in it. I wish that there was something I could do to soothe your pain. But I promise you this — we will do everything in our power at Momentum to advocate for equity and justice in every action. I personally promise to continue to stand up, show up, and advocate for change wherever and whenever I can. I’m sometimes an imperfect ally, but I will never stop learning how to be better.

We’re in this together. Let’s work together to fight for justice in the names of George Floyd, Ahmaud Arbery, and Breonna Taylor.

Sincerely,

Kevin Dean
Chief Executive Officer
Momentum Nonprofit Partners

--

--

Momentum Nonprofit Partners

Building the nonprofit sector through equitable, measurable, and lasting change in Memphis, TN.