Month #1 of Trying to Get Pregnant and I am Already Over It.

We don’t even have the time, place, or energy to do anything when I am ovulating.

Olivia M. 🤎
3 min readMay 31, 2024
Photo by Kelvin Han on Unsplash

My husband and I decided to try for another baby in May because we think next year will be a good time for our 2-year-old to have a sibling. Plus, we want 4 children by the time I turn 35 in 5 years. So I started a series to share our process and I hope to start some conversations that will help other mothers.

When we made this decision, I didn’t fully realize the impact of our new life on our intimacy.

We’ve been so busy and tired that we barely even look at each other throughout the day since every day feels like a race with a toddler (And you know how they can move slowly!).

God knows how long I’ve been delaying potty training because I am not ready for another challenge with our hard-headed 21-month-old girl.

Aside from our toddler, so many things are occupying our minds right now and I wonder if other millennial couples are going through a similar wave:

  • We just bought a house that requires a lot of renovation.
  • I took on some consulting jobs.
  • We just started building a couple of family businesses.
  • My mom lives with us now.

and more!

When do you fit intimacy in this whole picture?

At first, I thought scheduling it would work but apparently, that didn’t work this month.

On top of that, I feel like I put in more effort in this baby-making process because I have to adjust my diet to regulate my hormones, plan out the days I am going to ovulate, find some sexy lingerie, work a plan to make sure we don’t cosleep with our toddler anymore, and make sure that it happens when my mom is not around or asleep and whenever he is not tired.

You can imagine how exhausting it must be to think about these all week and how frustrating it is when it doesn’t happen as scheduled.

I got pretty annoyed when we missed my ovulation window last month but life happens and with a toddler + house renovations, things are OUT OF CONTROL!

That’s why I am already over it.

We had it easy the first time: we were only 2, renting and with high stable incomes!

Now everything is a gamble and if you are a mother, you know how much we love a good structure.

So yes, it’s tough.

But do I really want a baby? Yes.

So I’ll do my best not to get too emotionally invested and most importantly drop the high expectations.

If you have more than 1 child, please share your experience. Maybe it’ll help to put things into perspective so moms like me stop being too hard on themselves. 🤷🏽‍♀️

If you didn’t know this is the first article of a series I started in May. If you want to see what’s coming up, check out the article below.

--

--

Olivia M. 🤎

I use my voice to serve and empower mothers who value being at home with their kids while earning an income doing the things that they love the most.