Handling Being Overwhelmed

Kayla Tackett
3 min readNov 7, 2022

Do you ever feel like you take on too much for only one person to handle? That you want so badly for a better future for you and your family, that you overload your days with work, school, chores, parenting and everything else that comes with an employed parent?

Image created by Author on Canva.com

This happens to me from time to time.

I know that my drive and determination is what allows my family to live the life they have become accustomed to, but sometimes I feel like I’m wading through the water.

How do I get through these days and allow myself back up onto the lifeguard tower? A few things:

  1. Keep a To-Do list: Every day I write a to-do list when I wake. Before I begin doing anything, I jot down everything I wish to accomplish. Important things, non-important things, things I know my children need to have done that day or things I know have not been done in a while.
  2. Yoga: I began doing yoga a few months ago. At first, I felt silly standing in poses and my children staring at me like a crazy person. However, there are many poses that are made to relieve stress. (e.g Downward Facing Dog) — If you have not attempted it yet, I would highly suggest it!
  3. Practicing a Hobby: Allowing myself 15 minutes a day to dedicate to something I enjoy doing has relieved a lot of stress for me. Just…

--

--

Kayla Tackett

Blogging Wife and Mother with a passion for humor. Remember: Shine Bright 🧡https://www.buymeacoffee.com/mommomentsI